?

What should be HorizonModule renamed to?

Poll closed May 21, 2017.
  1. HzMod

    11 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. HzModule

    8 vote(s)
    36.4%
  3. HzProc

    2 vote(s)
    9.1%
  4. HzDbg

    1 vote(s)
    4.5%
  5. HzDebug

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. 22 voter(s)
  1. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    For Smash you do need HzLoad HIMEM. Don't forget to also install the base cia (HzMod.cia or HorizonM.cia depending on the version), because that's what contains the actual functionality.
     
  2. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I see. So I just install everything, right? (the HorizonM cia is that N3DS exclusive update)
     
  3. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    There is no new3DS-compatible HzLoad HIMEM, so if you're using new3DS then you only need the regular HzLoad, and HorizonM.cia
     
  4. jeffyTheHomebrewer

    jeffyTheHomebrewer Neato Burrito!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, cool. I just wanted to double check. Thanks!
     
    Sono likes this.
  5. Selim873

    Selim873 Nunnayobeesnes
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to stream TARGA based games yet? Snickerstream still doesn't support it and HorizonScreen just gives me a black screen. I'm on a N3DS. SMT4 is the only game I have to test it.

    EDIT: Went through the instructions too fast. Didn't see I had to press L on the keyboard to connect. So does it not stream the bottom screen by design? I caught that 0% is for TARGA games, but I'll hold off on HZScreen since I'd prefer to have the bottom screen.
     
    Last edited by Selim873, Aug 3, 2020
  6. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    JPEG support has already been added for RGB565 games like Smash and MK7, although at this point I'm not sure if I ever released them.

    The latest version requires a HzScreen which I never released because I also use Snickerstream because it has better FPS.

    Bottom screen was removed literal ages ago. The RAM in the 3DS can only transfer a certain amount of bytes per second before bottlenecking the CPU. Sadly bottom screen streaming causes that (with a game running), not only halving, but entirely murdering any small bit of squeezable performance which is required for screen streaming. You could hunt down ancient builds, but those are like 2FPS at best.
     
  7. PandaBot21

    PandaBot21 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is completely impossible for me to use. I tried the boot one as well but it just fails to connect, so I used this one and can't get past the powershell step. [​IMG]https://imgur.com/0Ahi9xj
     
  8. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    You do need the .\ part for PowerShell. Make sure that you extracted the exe, and it is present at the correct folder (in your case, it should be at D:\N3DS\Recorder\Hz\out\HorizonScreen-PC.exe).
     
  9. PandaBot21

    PandaBot21 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had it all working but the streaming app just fails to connect no matter what I do.
     
  10. Dartz150

    Dartz150 Yet another Onii-chan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,181
    Country:
    Mexico
    I started to use this recently, and I only have one question, what is a TARGA game and how can you identify one?
     
  11. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    There are multiple versions of HorizonScreen.

    Some versions require you to type stuff into the console. Those are identified by a wide window with garbage pixels present, and the console should be asking for input. Those will launch without an IP address.

    If you need to enter an IP, there are three versions.
    Two of them freeze while connecting the moment you launch the exe. The only (functional) difference is that one opens the window before connecting, and one only opens the window after connect.

    The third one just opens without doing anything. It's identified by the tall window, and if you press the arrow keys, it starts to blur and vibrate. On these versions, you quickly TAP L to connect. Due to a mistake, holding the button will get you stuck in a connect/disconnect loop, and eventually the 3DS-side will crash.

    In short, TrueVision TARGA (or TGA, with a file extension of .tga) is a lossless image storage format, like PNG.

    In the early days (when I took over PepperTV) it streamed the raw pixels without compression. I have unlisted videos showcasing the prototype.

    Because it's way too slow, I wanted to find a fast image file format which could reduce the file size even by the tiniest bit, because we're still more limited by the WiFi transfer speed than the compression speed at this point. Someone (probably sykhro) recommended Targa, and I found it really good.

    And then people asked for new3DS version, and JPEG happened, etc.

    Because the JPEG compressor doesn't support some widely used pixel formats like RGB565, I had to stick with Targa for those pixel formats. This is why MK7 and Smash are so awfully slow.

    There is an experimental version of HzMod where I made a custom RGB to YUV converter which can achieve 60FPS on a new3DS in monochrome, but I broke something which made it run at 20FPS on a new3DS, so development is stalled until I can resolve this bug.
     
  12. Moon164

    Moon164 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    Brazil
    After a long time after giving up on using the homebrew I decided to try again following a video () and finally I did it.
    [​IMG]
    But I had a problem, when I started a game the program on the PC crashed on this screen while the game keeps running.

    In addition, the frame rate on the 3DS was pretty bad (I don't mean just the program, but the 3DS itself was slower and with a strange sound), I know that the 3DS doesn't perform as well, but it has some form of how to fix this?
     
  13. dahacker2019

    dahacker2019 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    Ouch 5 fps.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

     
  14. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    Look at the LED color. If it turns yellow then that explains why it disconnects, the game steals the WiFi connection from HzMod. What game is it?

    As for the FPS, the old3DS is just *this* underpowered. It only has 2 CPU cores, and both are at 100% use. But the main bottleneck is the FCRAM, as it's ridiculously slow. Since HzMod has to trash the measily 16k data cache, HzMod is hogging down the RAM access, stealing it from the game, effectively hogging down the system to around DS/GBA speed.

    On the new3DS somehow it's much worse if L2 isn't enabled. HzMod still trashes both caches, but there is just barely enough L2 cache to hold up the speed at decent levels.
     
    dahacker2019 likes this.
  15. TheEeveeLovers

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    How do I find the right IP to connect to?
    I am putting in mine, but a black screen is all I get, but the LED on the 3DS is blue and flashes when I press any button!
    And so I press L, and lone behold, error 10061
     
    Last edited by TheEeveeLovers, Sep 20, 2020
  16. bahamut920

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    United States
    I used an FTP app for 3DS to get the console's IP.
     
    Sono likes this.
  17. Moon164

    Moon164 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    Brazil
    I usually go into my router's settings and see the IP of my 3DS over there.

    Btw, what hat is the best configuration for using Old 3DS?, this is my current configuration :
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    By the way, there is no sound, is this normal?
     
  18. bahamut920

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you're not going to get sound over wifi, the FPS is bad enough as it is. You can buy a cheap male-male 3.5" audio cable and feed it from the headphone jack on the 3DS to the rear line-in on your PC if you want to feed the sound through your PC as well.
     
    Moon164 and Sono like this.
  19. Leolaus

    Leolaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    bottom screen streaming when?
     
  20. Sono

    OP Sono cripple piss
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,373
    Country:
    Hungary
    When rewrite.

    Basically there is a higher chance of someone making a cheap 3DS-to-VGA adapter before I complete the rewrite.
     
    fmkid likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - streaming, screen, old3DS