Huge Windows 8.1 Issue

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,683
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
14,267
Country
United Kingdom
Ok so last night i switched the laptop off and everything was fine went to switch it on today and it keeps coming up with a blue screen that says someting like windows could not start attempting to repair. It then says repair could not fix the issue. It then brings up a menu with advanced options. So i brought up comand prompt and tried to run check disc this failed saying it could not run due to a pending system restore. So next tried to boot into safe mode this also failed. Next i tried to refresh the system this also failed. So now i am here looking for help.
 

Gizametalman

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2015
Messages
974
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
D.F. - Zona Cero.
XP
685
Country
Mexico
Tssssss.... that's the worst thing it could happen to any Windows User.
From this onwards, any attempt witll end up in an endless loop.
I've had this problem before. And I couldn't fix it easily. Actually it was mere luck.

Try to boot to the BIOS and see if you can work it out from there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AmandaRose

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,683
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
14,267
Country
United Kingdom
Tssssss.... that's the worst thing it could happen to any Windows User.
From this onwards, any attempt witll end up in an endless loop.
I've had this problem before. And I couldn't fix it easily. Actually it was mere luck.

Try to boot to the BIOS and see if you can work it out from there.
Ok had a look in bios everything seems fine so dont know what to do next.
 

JordenNixNix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
233
Trophies
0
XP
274
Country
Belgium
I also got this problem before (except it was Windows 10 pro).
There isn't much you can do.

I would suggest you to copy all important data to an external HDD/SDD via command line and completely reinstall Windows again.
You don't need access to an account to perform this. You can find a terminal in Advanced Options.
example:
copy "C:\Users\YourUserName\Documents\*.*" "D:\Win8_Backup"

By a completely reinstall, I mean installing Windows from scratch via a USB pen drive.
In other words, you will format your drive and will lose everything.

You can use cd.. to go out of an exciting folder or you can choose cd"name" to go a folder deeper. (cd = change directory)
example:
Right now I am in "c:\Users\MyUserName" and I want to go to the "Documents" folder:
cd "Documents"

I strongly suggest to make a copy of your Windows serial key if you're using a pro/enterprise/education edition.
If I remember correctly, this is the command:
wmic path softwarelicensingservice get OA3xOriginalProductKey

Write your key down on a piece of paper, just to be sure.

I know how frustrating it is but that's the only solution.
I really feel your pain.


You can get a Windows 8/10 iso from the official Microsoft website.
After downloading the iso you can use a program called usb Rufus to make an installable USB pen drive. (Not Windows to go, that's a portable Windows).


And an extra tip:
When your problem is solved look for portable editions of your programs.
So you can easy copy them over to a USB device. (portable means, It doesn't need to be installed)
 
Last edited by JordenNixNix,
  • Like
Reactions: InsaneNutter

Gizametalman

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Dec 18, 2015
Messages
974
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
D.F. - Zona Cero.
XP
685
Country
Mexico
Ok had a look in bios everything seems fine so dont know what to do next.

Check everything, the disk, its partitions, and files.
Having acces to the BIOS is a life saver.
Yoy could boot another copy of Windows out of a USB Drive, an External Hard Drive, or even from a CD-DVD.
You could also run a syscheck from the BIOS.
And you can log in to the system in SafeMode.

SafeMode will be your best option here. Also, try to identify if any of your drivers are causing the trouble. Again, within the Bios.
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,683
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
14,267
Country
United Kingdom
Check everything, the disk, its partitions, and files.
Having acces to the BIOS is a life saver.
Yoy could boot another copy of Windows out of a USB Drive, an External Hard Drive, or even from a CD-DVD.
You could also run a syscheck from the BIOS.
And you can log in to the system in SafeMode.

SafeMode will be your best option here. Also, try to identify if any of your drivers are causing the trouble. Again, within the Bios.
The problem is safe mode does not even work it just says safe mode could not start.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,218
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,751
Country
Norway
Ok so last night i switched the laptop off and everything was fine went to switch it on today and it keeps coming up with a blue screen that says someting like windows could not start attempting to repair. It then says repair could not fix the issue. It then brings up a menu with advanced options. So i brought up comand prompt and tried to run check disc this failed saying it could not run due to a pending system restore. So next tried to boot into safe mode this also failed. Next i tried to refresh the system this also failed. So now i am here looking for help.
Try a system restore (it should let you do it from the startup repair) if you have any restore points available.
You could try a reset from the advanced options. It will restore Windows to "factory fresh" but without deleting any of your data. Works about as well as a reinstall would but without all the hassle.
If that doesn't help you can try reinstalling it from scratch. Sometimes this is the only option. As long as you don't format the drive you won't lose any data (old Program Files/AppData and so on will be moved to Windows.old)
 

JordenNixNix

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2012
Messages
233
Trophies
0
XP
274
Country
Belgium
If BIOS works, try to make a Windows to go usb stick with another pc.
Download Windows 8 iso and use Rufus, choose for Windows to go.

Now on your other pc, try to set the bios settings to launch from usb.
When the usb drive boots, you can use Windows.
I strongly suggest to make a backup of all your files then.

Otherwise I suggest to do what I told you before.
 

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,683
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
14,267
Country
United Kingdom
Try a system restore (it should let you do it from the startup repair) if you have any restore points available.
You could try a reset from the advanced options. It will restore Windows to "factory fresh" but without deleting any of your data. Works about as well as a reinstall would but without all the hassle.
If that doesn't help you can try reinstalling it from scratch. Sometimes this is the only option. As long as you don't format the drive you won't lose any data (old Program Files/AppData and so on will be moved to Windows.old)
Any system restore i have still ends up with the same issue and trying to refresh to factory just brings an error saying refresh could not be completed.
 

Zoloco

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
626
Country
United States
When in BIOS, check your SATA configuration. Try setting it to either AHCI or RAID. Losing this configuration can lead to windows not booting.
 

Dr.Hacknik

Ashley | Developer | Trans
Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
1,773
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
inside your fridge
Website
dochacknik.keybase.pub
XP
2,197
Country
United States
Another reason why I use Windows 10, and especially Linux (Solus).

I don't run into many issues though.

Also try using MedicatUSB (Created by a fellow Temper)

This utility is a bootable Windows 10, Linux, etc Environment with tons of Utilities.
If you have a USB Drive, consider using it! Especially run a Checkdisk using it, and some HardDisk diagnostics.

EDIT:

Also, have you installed any Drivers or new software before the issue?
If so, consider using MediCatUSB and attempt to get rid of it.
 
Last edited by Dr.Hacknik,

AmandaRose

Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
9,683
Trophies
1
Location
Glasgow
Website
www.rockstarnorth.com
XP
14,267
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks everyone for the help after trying suggestions here and from the net i came to the conclusion it could not be rescued so went ahead and wiped the hd and reinstalled windows and its up and running again
 

Futurdreamz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2014
Messages
2,224
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
1,905
Country
Canada
if you can plug the drive into another computer witht he same OS you should be able to run DISM repair, where it manually checks the integrity of the OS installation.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Psi has a new girlfriend but I have known her for like 28 years
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Is she you?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Psi just become a sparkling vampire already
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The Catboy it's weird there was always something between us.... But neither of us was single at the same time.... But last night we found out we both are... And hmmm 🥰
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She has all my weak points smart funny blonde and she lights up the room when she walks in and nothing else exists when she is there
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would eat the corn out of her.... Lol
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
    +1
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Peretti, Ask you question in the Wii section of the forum.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @Peretti, Ask you question in the Wii section of the forum.