How?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ..::MaxWell::.., Apr 4, 2009.

Apr 4, 2009

How? by ..::MaxWell::.. at 7:34 AM (904 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. ..::MaxWell::..
    OP

    Member ..::MaxWell::.. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I use ANY WBFS Utility for Windows, It never formats it to WBFS!

    It ALWAYS gives some kind of error, so then I went on the USB Loader (1.1) and I formatted it and it works on the loader but not on my pc.

    So, how do I get it to work on my pc and the loader?



    Thanks in advance. [​IMG]
     
  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    1. plug your usb device in pc.
    2. in start menu/run menu type compmgmt.msc (for xp dunno if its different for vista)
    3. in storage menu to left select disk management.
    4. select the device, right click and choose delete partition
    5. now click it again and choose create partition
    6. create the partition as a primary NTFS and select how much space to allocate and assign a drive letter. i have a 320gb hdd so i just used 160gb giving wii and pc half.
    7.Now use a wbfs program to format the drive making sure to select the correct drive letter and make the partition wbfs.
    9. when its done run compmgmt.msc again.
    10. select the device again and select the space thats unallocated.
    11. choose create partition and repeat steps 3 - 6 again.

    if you already used the loader to create wbfs than run compmgmt.msc delete the partition and start again.
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Also, run the loader application from a directory without spaces in the filename and run it in administrator mode.

    This is assuming you're using a GUI of some sort.
     
  4. ..::MaxWell::..
    OP

    Member ..::MaxWell::.. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    On vista there is a built in Program called Disk Management, so I will try this and give back results, thanks in advance...
    [​IMG]
     
  5. u4Wii

    Newcomer u4Wii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maxwell

    After you have formatted the partition using WBFS you will not be able to access that partition like you normally would via "My Computer". Attempting to do so will get you an error message prompting you to format the drive because it isn't formatted correctly. IGNORE THAT ERROR MESSAGE AND DO NOT FOR THE LOVE OF JEBUS AGREE TO LETTING WINDOWS FORMAT IT AGAIN! This is how it's supposed to be, it is now correctly formatted so that only your Wii and WBFS can access it, nothing else [​IMG]
     
  6. ..::MaxWell::..
    OP

    Member ..::MaxWell::.. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    I know that part, but if I ever did format it via pc (to say FAT32), can I format back to WBFS?
     
  7. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep. But it goes without saying, You'd lose everything on your hard drive.
     
  8. u4Wii

    Newcomer u4Wii Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any hard-drive, memory stick, memory card etc can be partition and formatted over and over and to as many different types as you want. Just be prepared to backup your data first (to a different drive) first if you don't want to lose it.
     
  9. ..::MaxWell::..
    OP

    Member ..::MaxWell::.. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    United States
    KK, I have nothing important on my HDD anyways.
     

Share This Page