How to run PSP games on your PS3

Discussion in 'PS3 - Tutorials' started by wiired24, Sep 5, 2013.

Sep 5, 2013

How to run PSP games on your PS3 by wiired24 at 5:08 AM (119,835 Views / 1 Likes) 14 replies

  1. wiired24
    OP

    Member wiired24 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Dev_Home
    Country:
    United States
    If you have no clue how to run PSP Games on your PS3 thats ok this guide will walk you through it step by step.

    1. Download a PSP ISO or CSO for whatever PSP game you wish to play on the PS3 for example if i wanted lets says Final Fantasy 7 Crisis Core i would download the ISO for Crisis Core

    2.Once you have the ISO or CSO of the game of your choice downloaded you need to download a program called PSPtoPS3 its a Graphic program for converting your PSP ISO into a .PKG File for installation on the PS3.

    The program you will need looks like this~ [​IMG]

    3.Once you have that downloaded go ahead and select browse then select your PSP ISO or CSO

    4.You have the choice of selecting either remaster or Minis some games work as only minis and some games work as only remasters however most games i've come across work fine with the remaster method so just select remaster.

    5.Before you hit Build Package you can customize the ICON0 Pic which is the Picture that shows up when the game is selected and you can also change the title if you wish.

    6.Once your finished with that just hit Build Package

    7.Now your PSP ISO or CSO will be converted into a .pkg file

    8. When its done copy the newly created .PKG file to a usb drive

    9. Plug the USB Drive in to your PS3 and select install package files

    10.Install the PKG

    11. Thats it now your PSP game will show up on the Game section of the PS3 XMB

    12. Have fun :yaypsp:

    Also as a side not in order to enhance the quality of the PSP Game you need to go to Settings and then game settings and where it says PSP select Full Screen and now your PSP Game will show up in Full Screen and will look better too.
     
    DinohScene likes this.
  2. tofast4u

    Member tofast4u GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    435
    Country:
    United States
    Do you need cfw on the ps3?
     
  3. wiired24
    OP

    Member wiired24 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Dev_Home
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you do
     
  4. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,951
    Country:
    United States
    damn..my Rogero PS3 YLOD'd and I revived it with a blowdryer until that didn't work anymore..I miss my CFW PS3 :/
     
  5. wiired24
    OP

    Member wiired24 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Dev_Home
    Country:
    United States
    I feel your Pain man..... CFW PS3's are awesome i dunno what i'd do without mine
     
  6. Bobbyloujo

    Member Bobbyloujo I am a millipede, I am amazing.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Can saves from a PSP be copied over to the PS3?
     
  7. Kurt91

    Member Kurt91 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    Newport, WA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't actually have a PS3 (but I'm looking into getting one), but I'd like to ask anyways out of sheer fascination with this. It said in the picture of the conversion program that it works with eboot files. Does this mean that I could possibly convert a PlayStation 1 ISO into a PSP eboot file, then convert it again through this program to turn it into a PS3 game? (If I'm mistaken and the PS3 is backwards compatible that far, then I must sound awfully silly right now.)
     
  8. wiired24
    OP

    Member wiired24 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Dev_Home
    Country:
    United States
    Yes just create a folder on your USB Drive called PSP and then inside that create a folder called SAVEDATA and then put your save inside there and then on the PS3 under the game section go to PSP Save data and select Copy and it will copy over the save data to your PS3
     
  9. wiired24
    OP

    Member wiired24 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Dev_Home
    Country:
    United States
    No i do not believe that is possible If your just wanting to play PS1 Backups when u get a modded PS3 just download Retroarch and use that it has PS1 Emulation
     
  10. Mirko1992

    Newcomer Mirko1992 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Italy
    Does this work on a ps3 with Cobra ODE?
     
  11. walterpisante

    Newcomer walterpisante Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    thanks a lot bro this worked well
     
  12. William Brown

    Newcomer William Brown Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, people that are planning on using any CFW for a PS3, i wouldnt dare think about doing that the reason why is because as far as i know, Sony are taking people to court for people using CFW on a PS3 and being fined £1000 for "Propery Damage" (well, thats what im guessing that would be) however, just take this as a friendly warning, i was planning on doing the same thing until i found out that Sony are taking people to court for installing any CFW on a PS3 (probably the same for the PS4) so, just becareful when planning on using any CFW. People that already have it, not sure whats going to happen but all i kow is that Sony are unhappy that people are using CFW on a PS3/PS4
     
  13. barronwaffles

    Member barronwaffles GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Syria
    Does anyone else sometimes struggle to differentiate between the shills and the... under-educated?
     
  14. shadoom

    Member shadoom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Taiwan
    does this still have worse quality of emulation than ppsspp ?
    I remember playing psp games on a cfw ps3 but it had transparency issues and a lot of other graphical glitches
     
  15. Zero72463

    Member Zero72463 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,168
    Country:
    United States
    It's resolution turns down when the game is launched. It's just like the PSP. BTW everyone an easier method is to install webmod using cobra and put the PSP iso into the webmod files.
     

Share This Page