1. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    So, the Parental Code reset/ Master Key generator only works on much older devices below 7 with 8 Digit Confirmation code.

    the 7x above codes has 10 digits and does not work on current generators.

    a generator works well for places where you don't have an internet connection or no way to contact nintendo support due to country limitations.

    My theory is, the generator might work if slotkeyx is used, IDK, I'm just guessing.

    if no,

    do we have leads on where the Parental Code is saved nand, and maybe we can overwrite through CFW.
    patch certain bytes on the nand backup, reinstall a certain system cia.


    your thoughts / inputs are welcome.


    Thanks
     
  2. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,443
    Country:
    United States
    No one is going to do such complex work just because you forgot your password or are a little kid who wants to do stuff that isn't allowed by his parents.

    I get that sometimes you may buy a second hand 3DS, you should either check it before hand or request a return.

    Even the system offers 3 ways to reset it.

    Password
    Secret question
    Email

    There are no excuses for info something this delicated missing.
     
    Zidapi likes this.
  3. Deleted-19228

    Deleted-19228 Newbie

    Or spend 50 cents and reset it heh
     
    Deleted-236924 and leerz like this.
  4. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    this helps a lot really. lol funny how answers in gbatemp often/tend to end like this, no place for sarcasm, or immature answers.


    yes, that's what i'm trying, however it's not available in my country.


    yes, the 3ds is 2nd hand and was "as is - where is", the price was great like 20$

    I didn't ask on how to remove my personal code, it was a general question.



    meehhh, I just realized I can't change the network settings so no luck getting any browser related hax to work.
     
  5. Deleted-19228

    Deleted-19228 Newbie

    Might be possible if you can dump your nand and decrypt would require a method to boot though.
     
  6. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    that I can do via hardmod, problem is, idk the offsets or if it IS

    question, dump sysnand (hardmod) decrypt, patch, encrypt.

    idk i read this: https://gbatemp.net/threads/decrypt-and-re-encrypt-nand.375249/
     
  7. Deleted-19228

    Deleted-19228 Newbie

    Lot of work for that heh.
     
  8. loco365

    loco365 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    If memory serves, if you can run some launcher.dat homebrew, you can dump the fcram and find the password in there. I can't remember the offset of it though. Might have to find someone else that might be able to modify it for other firmwares, though.
     
    leerz and cearp like this.
  9. Deleted-19228

    Deleted-19228 Newbie

    He got it fixed.
     
    leerz likes this.
  10. WulfyStylez

    WulfyStylez SALT/Bemani Princess
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,149
    Country:
    United States
    https://mkey.salthax.org/ (by Dazzozo) can handle basically all regions and system versions including 7.x+, for anyone who needs a good resource for this in the future.
     
    leerz, AdmiralToucan, Claros and 8 others like this.
  11. mitroux

    mitroux GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Macau
    it doesn't work with 7.x systems , try it by yourself
    if you do , you will get this msg :
    Your master key could not be calculated.
    If your enquiry number is correct, this server is missing the required data to process it.
     
    leerz likes this.
  12. Deleted-19228

    Deleted-19228 Newbie

    I PM'd him the link because I was told the link was still private.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Wrong. This was just released recently.
     
    leerz likes this.
  13. mitroux

    mitroux GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    Macau
    well , if you have a 3ds , you can test it like i said , i set a parental code , and tried it , and gave me the same error
     
  14. ieeat

    ieeat Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm this works. Tested on my n3DS with a made up PIN and was able to generate a working master key. You have to make sure that the date you set MATCHES the one set on the 3DS, not the real date.
     
    leerz likes this.
  15. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    I just tested on a 8.1.0j 3ds and the 3ds did not accept the masterkey
    I think it might work for 7x,

    I guess there are different versions of the Parental Controls reset page and the way each version needs to be deciphered will also be different.


    the documentation only shows up to 7.2x
    there may more undocumented versions of it.
     
  16. squee666

    squee666 Advanced Tech Pleb
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Well i just tested this on 9.5EU and it worked with masterkey
     
    leerz likes this.
  17. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    That's good to hear!, and debunked my various system versions guess.

    so the system region may be the culprit.
    I'm confirming that it works on my 3dsxl with 10.1u legit, and 10.1u cfw

    another guess, this is either the Region J or my confirmation key starting with a 0


    --edit-
    update
    just tried with my other o3ds 10.1 U cfw,
    it worked! the confirmation key did not start from 0, I'm gonna test with other units in J FW
     
    Last edited by leerz, Dec 29, 2015
    Deleted-236924 likes this.
  18. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    thanks for sharing this, also to neptune,

    2 tests i did worked well, both on 10.x U o3ds and one 3dsxl
    o3ds 10.x u - worked
    3dsxl 10.x u - worked
    o3ds 8.1x J - failed


    other members tested with the following
    9.5EU -squee666 - worked
    and n3DS (assume 9.5) -ieeat - worked
     
  19. leerz

    OP leerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    609
    Country:
    firstly, Thank you Dazzozo for the updated parentel mkey update for 7x up.
    and sorry for dragging you here on this page too.

    I just would like to share the findings of our tests earlier. :)
    may we request some insight on whether it is limited by the J fw or the Confirmation code containing 0 prefix, was wondering if you can help shed some light on this ordeal. Thank you.
     
  20. Dazzozo

    Dazzozo KRAZOA PALACE
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    If you're getting that error, send me your system version, region, and enquiry number and I'll look in to it.
     
    leerz and Syphurith like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - 10Digits, Parental, Remove