How to remove a program from the taskbar?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by da_head, Oct 26, 2008.

Oct 26, 2008
  1. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    no i'm not askin for the system tray. lets just say i have a game open for instance, and if i minimized it, it wouldn't be there. is there any way to do this within windows or a 3rd party program?

    [​IMG]
    EDIT: is it just me or is imageshack RLY slow rite now?
     
  2. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Image shack is always slow and never works very well, at least in my experience.

    Use photobucket, tinypic, or majhost instead.


    But on topic: I have no idea how to do that. It would be nice to be able to completely hide and restore something with a hotkey, though. I know some programs do have that function, but I don't know of something where you can port the function over to any application.
     
  3. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    ok i found this sketchy freeware called: taskbar button manager. it gets the job done, though i would really prefer something better. anyone?
     
  4. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    How is it sketchy?
     
  5. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    miniMIZE

    Add things you want to show up to exceptions and remove thumbnails from the desktop.
     
  6. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    How do you get them back up once they are invisible? Is there a hotkey?
     
  7. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    Alt + tab allows you to switch windows.
    My firefox portable doesnt show on the taskbar when minimized but when i alt+tab to it it shows up.
     
  8. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting.

    Useful trick, may put it to use sometime.
     
  9. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    Also alt + esc works like alt + tab.
     
  10. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    wait. are you suggesting i use alt+tab with the program gore suggested? or just alt+tab..
     
  11. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I think he's saying use miniMIZE as Gore said, and then to get back to the window just Alt+Tab to it.

    Alt+Tab by itself does not hide the window.
     
  12. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    I was answering mewgia when he asked how to get it back up after its hidden from the taskbar.
     
  13. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    k
     

Share This Page