How to install IOSes using dop-ios offline?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bloodlust, Sep 5, 2009.

Sep 5, 2009
  1. Bloodlust
    OP

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I do not wish to download IOSes online prior to patching it with dop-ios. Is there a way to copy the wad to the SD card and let the app apply the trucha patch and install it to the wii directly?
     
  2. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't know if it is possible to use dop-ios offline, but you can use NUSD and FreeTheBug to patch all the WADs you need.
     
  3. sirakain

    Newcomer sirakain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    France
    Yes you can use DOP IOS offline.
    Download the IOS you want with NUSD. (do not pack into a WAD nor decrypt contents !)
    Imagine the directory created is 0000000100000002v1234
    Create the directory 00000001 (first 8 numbers), then 00000002 (8 next numbers) and v1234 (last numbers/letters)
    So you have something like
    SD:00000010000002\v1234 and put all files in it.
    then select with dop ios the IOS and you can do it offline.
     
  4. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You've done a mistake: SD:0000001\0000002\v1234 [​IMG]
     
  5. Bloodlust
    OP

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Now that's truly enlightening. Thanks for the tip! [​IMG]
     
  6. gentlegerbil

    Newcomer gentlegerbil Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    appears I have done everything correctly but it will not let me without a network.... that's odd, I have dop-ios v9 i believe. did I miss a step? or do I still need a network to use it offline? (that would be kinda ironic)
     
  7. jodur

    Newcomer jodur Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had the same problems with DOP-ios Mod V9. I followed the steps from the Complete softmode Guide to patch trunca into IOS36 offline, and to update to system menu 4.1.
    Applying trunca went well, but patching IOS60 wasn't possible without a working internet connection. I did download the right files and put them in the right directories (I used NusFolderRenamer.exe). Also DOP-IOS MOD V8 had the same problems.
     
  8. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the method sirakain said is absolutley right. but you must use a newer version of dop-ios mod. the sd card stuff was broken up through version 9.
     
  9. jodur

    Newcomer jodur Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I used the link,provided the complete softmod guide (see http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/ha...g-guide/trucha)

    I also tried the last compiled version on google code (http://code.google.com/p/dop-iosmod/downloads/list)

    I know you are almost to release V10, but with both version above it didn't work!
     
  10. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Strange, so dop-ios can't load the IOS60 files from the SD card?

    If you don't need to play wads from the sd card menu, you can live without a patched IOS60 (you'll need a normal IOS60 then!!), but I'll have to find a way to fix it
    I think xzxero's pack (for his guide) has a IOS60 wad file that can simply be installed with wad manager [​IMG]

    just to be sure, check if the SD card has this: 00000001/0000003C/v6174/(all the files here)

    are you using the new version of the guide btw? (with the GP DOP-IOS MOD)
     
  11. jodur

    Newcomer jodur Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes i am using the new version, Trunca patching of IOS36 worked very well
     
  12. xerxes16439

    Newcomer xerxes16439 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    U.S.
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have Wifi so i can't install Ios60 are there any alternatives to the online installation?
     
  13. Fathead666

    Newcomer Fathead666 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    I had this same problem. I'm still new to modding the Wii but this is what I did. I couldn't get DOP-IOS Mod to install IOS60 either so I just did it through Wad Manager. Seemed to work okay but I'm not sure if it was completely safe to do it that way.

    Regardless though it worked...
     
  14. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
  15. xerxes16439

    Newcomer xerxes16439 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    U.S.
    Country:
    United States
    "I had this same problem. I'm still new to modding the Wii but this is what I did. I couldn't get DOP-IOS Mod to install IOS60 either so I just did it through Wad Manager. Seemed to work okay but I'm not sure if it was completely safe to do it that way."
    so you were able to play channels of your sd card after this?what ios60 did you use?
     
  16. rkChdrkls

    Newcomer rkChdrkls Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    Same problem, the newest DOP IOS MOD 11.4 is even stranger in that it first tries to load IOS60 v6400.wad (the stub) and if it is not present it won't load IOS60v6174.wad. This is when you choose to downgrade IOS60 not upgrade.
    In online mode it won't trucha patch IOS60v6174, it will install it but not patch it (with no error messages).

    In the end I forgot about the original DOP IOSv8, I tried that and it works, it installed and patched IOS60vv6174, without needing to use wad manager.
     

Share This Page