Hacking how to fix Banner Brick

likeryl

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 1, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
hi~.

i have korean wii (3.3k) .. i update USA animal crossing... so my wii now banner brick

first caution screen( this screen language is English).. and . Press A... and freeze... :-

i have modechip ( d2sun 3 , d2pro 3)

i make autoboot TP. disc ..

i enter ServiceMode.. ServiceVersion is 3.3k

..... but can't read any disc.. originael Korean Disc.. wii backup disc 1.3(=restore disc ) .. autoboot TP disc ( this disc testing other will = working right)

i change my modechip setting usa , kore, d2c2,d2c... etc... but ..any can't read..

do you have any infomation ?
 

djtaz

PM's Full - Wadder Me
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
2,997
Trophies
0
Age
51
Website
Visit site
XP
101
Country
You dont have a banner brick - you have a region brick.
A banner brick is from installing an incorrect wad - you updated with an incorrect region - its a lot harder to fix this.
 

nutta_nic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
556
Trophies
0
XP
164
Country
can you not put cios downgrader in root of sd card and run it with TP hack then install the 3.2k?

EDIT

after entering recovery mode obviousley
 

kitt050383

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
648
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
New Jersey
Website
Visit site
XP
115
Country
United States
system menu 3.3 does not support trucha discs plus his modchip does not support autoboot discs...
so you will have to get a modchip that does support autoboot or wait for a game to be released with a 3.4 update on it....

-Kitt050383

Source: http://savemii.net/
 

WiiCrazy

Be water my friend!
Member
Joined
May 8, 2008
Messages
2,395
Trophies
0
Location
Istanbul
Website
www.tepetaklak.com
XP
387
Country
Since you now have 3.3U, test ntsc-u version of twilight princess..

If you still have twilight hack in your wii, you can fix it using TP hack but with NTSC-U version of the game.... make sure you patch it as autoboot...

You can't run any of the modified discs unless you previously downgraded the ios used by the system menu...

You can fix it using a Korean game that has 3.4 update too...(though no such game exists yet I guess..)
 

patrickv

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
27
Country
hi everyone. i have 3.2e, and no modchip. i have a banner brick from mplayerwii wad. i have starfall, but i dont have the hack which enables autobooting, but i have recovery mode hack. oh and ive deleted my twilight hack save. was wondering is it too late to install a presoldered wiikey and wiiclip so i could autoboot hbc chennel from a dvd?
 

WiiBlaster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,189
Trophies
0
XP
29
Country
United States
patrickv said:
hi everyone. i have 3.2e, and no modchip. i have a banner brick from mplayerwii wad. i have starfall, but i dont have the hack which enables autobooting, but i have recovery mode hack. oh and ive deleted my twilight hack save. was wondering is it too late to install a presoldered wiikey and wiiclip so i could autoboot hbc chennel from a dvd?

Yes since you removed your TP Hack you will need to Mod-chip it, Wii Key will do fine, This will enable autoboot disc,
just download a Autoboot Wad Manager they worked fine to remove the wad that bricked your wii,
 

GnatGoSplat

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
51
Country
United States
patrickv said:
hi everyone. i have 3.2e, and no modchip. i have a banner brick from mplayerwii wad. i have starfall, but i dont have the hack which enables autobooting, but i have recovery mode hack. oh and ive deleted my twilight hack save. was wondering is it too late to install a presoldered wiikey and wiiclip so i could autoboot hbc chennel from a dvd?

N00b here. I was just curious, how does an app like mplayerwii cause a banner brick? What exactly causes a banner brick and is there any way to prevent it?
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,191
Country
Antarctica
Correct me if I'm wrong, those of you who are more knowledgeable, but any wad/channel can cause a banner brick if the banner[the logo you see on the screen] has bad dimensions. It's not specific apps that cause it. You can't stop them from happening if you get a bad wad, but you can severely reduce the chance by using good, well known dumps, or well made wads. Also, use WADder to roll your own channels if you're extremely paranoid.

To recover from one, you generally use Zelda or some other booting method to boot wad manager to remove the bad wad[you still have to have a copy of the wad on your SD card].

Again, if I'm wrong, please correct me. I'm willing to learn.
smile.gif
 

madtamski

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2008
Messages
404
Trophies
0
Age
54
Location
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Website
Visit site
XP
137
Country
Yeah that'll do
smile.gif


Best bit of advice that can be given is DO NOT INSTALL WADS (created by yourself or others), if you have no means to recover from a banner-brick!

I suggest Preloader, or starfall (3.2 Firmware required and TP-Hack installed).
 

GnatGoSplat

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
51
Country
United States
Thanks, that makes sense, but I'm curious... I can see how a self-made wad file could have a bad banner in it, but why would that be the case in a wad that a developer wrote and made available, like mplayerwii? Don't the developers normally test these things first?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Good night
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    goodnight
  • H @ HeroYthalo:
    Good Night
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Joyous occasion - I've finished two bottles of hot sauce over the past two days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is a new toilet in your shopping cart now?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I already have GI issues hot sauce doesn't make them any worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My gut thinks it's normal to poo 4/7 times of the week tbf
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob from all the poundings you getting from ancient boi
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Is that why your guts been messed up also?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm still laughing bout when Veho ask other day how many people live in Michigan, and you said 1 white dude.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I don't remember what I did yesterday
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And that's why you backed up
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I regret giving birth to you
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    BeSt turd you ever shit out
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Is that Metro any good?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I gave up after two chemo dogs jumped me
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    My favorite part about filing taxes is that I always either owe a disportionate amount of money or get literally pennies back.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    And I make under 30k a year.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just sit in jail
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    If it was a option just to go to jail for month as opposed to filing taxes I might be tempted, jail ain't that bad atleast in the us.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    You just go in for a month and come out with no fines or having to pay them anyway, I would be down.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Good morning degenerates
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    hi, good morning
    LeoTCK @ LeoTCK: hi, good morning