how to fix Banner Brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by likeryl, Jan 1, 2009.

Jan 1, 2009

how to fix Banner Brick by likeryl at 7:08 AM (1,875 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. likeryl
    OP

    Newcomer likeryl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Korea, South
    hi~.

    i have korean wii (3.3k) .. i update USA animal crossing... so my wii now banner brick

    first caution screen( this screen language is English).. and . Press A... and freeze... :-

    i have modechip ( d2sun 3 , d2pro 3)

    i make autoboot TP. disc ..

    i enter ServiceMode.. ServiceVersion is 3.3k

    ..... but can't read any disc.. originael Korean Disc.. wii backup disc 1.3(=restore disc ) .. autoboot TP disc ( this disc testing other will = working right)

    i change my modechip setting usa , kore, d2c2,d2c... etc... but ..any can't read..

    do you have any infomation ?
     
  2. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    do a search, check the wiki, look at a few sigs... the info is there, you just have to look
     
  3. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    You dont have a banner brick - you have a region brick.
    A banner brick is from installing an incorrect wad - you updated with an incorrect region - its a lot harder to fix this.
     
  4. likeryl
    OP

    Newcomer likeryl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Korea, South
    thanks djtaz,digitydogs . .i have region brick //
     
  5. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can you not put cios downgrader in root of sd card and run it with TP hack then install the 3.2k?

    EDIT

    after entering recovery mode obviousley
     
  6. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    I think his Chip doesnt support Autostart Discs?
     
  7. kitt050383

    Member kitt050383 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    648
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    system menu 3.3 does not support trucha discs plus his modchip does not support autoboot discs...
    so you will have to get a modchip that does support autoboot or wait for a game to be released with a 3.4 update on it....

    -Kitt050383

    Source: http://savemii.net/
     
  8. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Since you now have 3.3U, test ntsc-u version of twilight princess..

    If you still have twilight hack in your wii, you can fix it using TP hack but with NTSC-U version of the game.... make sure you patch it as autoboot...

    You can't run any of the modified discs unless you previously downgraded the ios used by the system menu...

    You can fix it using a Korean game that has 3.4 update too...(though no such game exists yet I guess..)
     
  9. patrickv

    Newcomer patrickv Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Australia
    hi everyone. i have 3.2e, and no modchip. i have a banner brick from mplayerwii wad. i have starfall, but i dont have the hack which enables autobooting, but i have recovery mode hack. oh and ive deleted my twilight hack save. was wondering is it too late to install a presoldered wiikey and wiiclip so i could autoboot hbc chennel from a dvd?
     
  10. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Yes since you removed your TP Hack you will need to Mod-chip it, Wii Key will do fine, This will enable autoboot disc,
    just download a Autoboot Wad Manager they worked fine to remove the wad that bricked your wii,
     
  11. patrickv

    Newcomer patrickv Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks wiiblaster for the answer ^^.
     
  12. GnatGoSplat

    Newcomer GnatGoSplat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    N00b here. I was just curious, how does an app like mplayerwii cause a banner brick? What exactly causes a banner brick and is there any way to prevent it?
     
  13. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Correct me if I'm wrong, those of you who are more knowledgeable, but any wad/channel can cause a banner brick if the banner[the logo you see on the screen] has bad dimensions. It's not specific apps that cause it. You can't stop them from happening if you get a bad wad, but you can severely reduce the chance by using good, well known dumps, or well made wads. Also, use WADder to roll your own channels if you're extremely paranoid.

    To recover from one, you generally use Zelda or some other booting method to boot wad manager to remove the bad wad[you still have to have a copy of the wad on your SD card].

    Again, if I'm wrong, please correct me. I'm willing to learn. [​IMG]
     
  14. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah that'll do [​IMG]

    Best bit of advice that can be given is DO NOT INSTALL WADS (created by yourself or others), if you have no means to recover from a banner-brick!

    I suggest Preloader, or starfall (3.2 Firmware required and TP-Hack installed).
     
  15. GnatGoSplat

    Newcomer GnatGoSplat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, that makes sense, but I'm curious... I can see how a self-made wad file could have a bad banner in it, but why would that be the case in a wad that a developer wrote and made available, like mplayerwii? Don't the developers normally test these things first?
     
  16. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    the developers are mostly against WADs, so they are just made by people.

    Just use wadder (wadder.net) and nothing bad will happen.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. thenewrich

    Newcomer thenewrich Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it a good idea or even possible to install both preloader and starfall on 3.2?
     

Share This Page