How to downgrade fire Firefox

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Hop2089, Jul 23, 2009.

Jul 23, 2009

How to downgrade fire Firefox by Hop2089 at 3:40 PM (1,096 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Hop2089
    OP

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    How do you downgrade Firefox to the last update since the latest Firefox 10.15 is nothing but lag city and lags on youtube pretty bad.
     
  2. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    re-install firefox to a previous version if you have the previous one saved on your PC? That's what I do
     
  3. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
  4. iamjust

    Banned iamjust Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't recommend it, and FF 3.5.1 is pretty fast and secure, but here are the steps if you want:

    1. Uninstall the current version of Mozilla Firefox as per your operating system's uninstall instructions.
    2. Visit the Firefox Releases website with a different web browser (such as Internet Explorer).
    All older: http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...refox/releases/ or just 3.0: http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-older.html

    3. Click on the version you wish to download.
    4. Click on the appropriate install file for your operating system.
    5. Install it.
     
  5. Hop2089
    OP

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    I'm seeing the speed increase for browsing but youtube is lagging quite a bit.
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    That's strange. Not getting lag here on the latest release with youtube. Try running firefox in safe mode first, should be an option in the start menu. Also try disabling some addons and plugins.
     
  7. Hop2089
    OP

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    I just exited out and went back in and I just think Youtube is really slow today with videos.
     
  8. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible your version of Flash is out of date.....

    http://www.adobe.com/

    Worth a shot anyway as I've had no trouble with YT vids on the latest FireFox.
     
  9. Hop2089
    OP

    Member Hop2089 Cute>Hot

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,810
    Country:
    United States
    Checked in the plug ins and it's up to date, I think it's either the site or browser.

    Edit: YT works properly now since I disabled the Java plug in.
     
  10. iamjust

    Banned iamjust Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    You could also try updating Java...they tend to patch memory leaks and things like that frequently: http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp

    Also, if you visit YouTube often, it's probably better to use Google Chrome...(both by Google...so they are optimized). If you re worried about privacy issues, either use Iron http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php (based on the same open-source "Chromium base) OR you could you use Chrome portable (Google it).

    Lastly, you could update Shockwave, DivX, Silverlight, and Quicktime...good luck [​IMG]
    If you want, you could use this to check for updates to quite a few softwares...
     
  11. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Youtube videos run on flash, which is made by Adobe. So I can't see how it would be better optimised that way.
     

Share This Page