Gaming How to determine a graphics card power?

mehrab2603

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
guys i am new to this so please help me out.i am considering a new pc and i can't decide which graphics card is more powerful.i thought cards having more GBs are better but then someone told me that a 1 gb card can be better than a 2 gb one.so what should i look out for when determining a graphics card power?same help in determining processors is also appreciated.should i go for a faster dual core or a slower quad core?i want to build a powerful gaming machine.

mehrab2603

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
i have a budget of $2000.but don't mind that.i just want to know how to know which graphics card and processor is better?i mean what are the factors that make one better than the other?

mehrab2603

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
my cousin has a 1 gb card but it can't play gta 4 with the highest settings.

but i think you guys are not understanding what i want to know.i want to know on which basis i can compare gpus and processors.i don't need any suggestion or configurations.i just want to know how can i compare two cards.

thanks for replying anyway.

dirty_harry

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
There are too many to list, and they all change from Brand to Manufacturer. The best way is to find trusted hardware reviews. Tom's Hardware is a good one.

I'll give you a quick rundown.

There are 2 brands, nVidia and AMD (Formerly ATi).

They are in heated competition but recently nVidia has had the upper hand.

They release 'flagship' cards usually once a year.

There are series of a generation, as an example lets take the nVidia 9 series. There is a 9800, which is the flagship product. Meaning its the best of that series. A few months after the 9800 is released, a few less powerful or 'budget' versions are released for that series. Usually we get a 9600 and a 9500. They have a weaker GPU and less video-ram.