How often do u calibrate ur screen?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by da_head, Oct 2, 2008.

Oct 2, 2008
  1. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    i do it randomly. though does it even make a difference really?

    EDIT: shit i didn't add the poll correctly >.
     


  2. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    never. I did it like once but quickly backed out to not mess with things.
     
  3. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    Don't know what it's for. [​IMG]

    Once I did though...
     
  4. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    lool. its supposedly to realign ur touch screen if u think things a bit un-responsive.
     
  5. ENDscape

    Member ENDscape REBORN! I will post with my Dying Will!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    ``orz
    Country:
    Philippines
    I think the number of times i did that was once. And i dont remember if it was my DS or my friends or cousin or other.
     
  6. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have to recalibrate my screen ever, seems fairly useless
     
  7. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    i suspect almost no one here calibrates their screen because they haven't seen the ds menu in months xD

    (except when something fucks up lol)
     
  8. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    haha yeah. [​IMG]
     
  9. SaintFaction

    Newcomer SaintFaction Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I calibrate my screen every other month or so... and I can really tell a difference in the sensitivity/accuracy of my touch screen, tho I am using a phat hehe. Calibrating your screen should make it more accurate if you think it isn't accurate enough, just like calibrating your Rock Band game to deal with lag caused by stereo setups (it just tweaks it a little bit to improve performance, that's all)
     
  10. Doomsday Forte

    Member Doomsday Forte GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    United States
    I think apart from the initial calibration, I've done it maybe one other time out of boredom.

    Screen, despite the vertical scratches from Meteos, is as good as ever. :3
     
  11. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,846
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    I've had a DS were the touch screen started getting inaccurate. I had to recalibrate it and click right above the bottom-left test every so often.
     
  12. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    DS screen...?
    Once a month.
     
  13. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    I had to do it on my DS phat but never on my lite
     
  14. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Once when I got it
     
  15. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    My DS touch screen?
    Or My PC monitor?

    DS screen once in a while.

    PC monitor once every year if that.
     
  16. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    I do it every time I open up a DS. So every year or two [​IMG] .
     
  17. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    This screen calibrate thing is useless.

    My Phat touch screen is very inaccurate. I tried to calibrate it for an hour of touching 3 red square and nothing happen. I get bored so I try touching the spot where the DS think it is the right place (about half a centimeter from the real red square) just 3 time and it tell me the screen is fine. and not fix anything.

    It's more like my hand got calibrate, not the screen.

    My Lite seem to be OK, so I never use that tool.
     
  18. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Very often. My DS screen is really messed. One half works perfect, the other is off by quite a bit. I fix this by calibrating the messed up side wrong, so it ends up right lol
     
  19. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never done it before, I don't use the touch screen often but I started playing Drawn to Life again this afternoon and my right side's off by 2 pixels so I think I'll be having a play with it later.
     
  20. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I used to do it often, just for the heck of it. Nowadays I don't use it anymore, because my screen just keeps working.
     

Share This Page