How does CIOSCorp Work?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by craigrs84, Feb 9, 2009.

Feb 9, 2009

How does CIOSCorp Work? by craigrs84 at 7:30 PM (2,578 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. craigrs84
    OP

    Newcomer craigrs84 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Does CIOSCorp incorporate the Gamma Backup Launcher code somehow? Or is it completely independant of the Gamma Backup Launcher code.

    Is this the closest we are going to get to using the Wii's own internal software to play backups? Is it using the Wii's own loader code to boot up the backup, but with different code to handle the hardware I/O? Or is it simply a fake "disc launcher" channel that replaces the original "disc launcher" channel?

    Why is there a limit of 3x speed for this? Does it affect both store bought games and backup games? Or do the store bought games still run at 6x speed with CIOSCorp installed? If so how does the system know the difference between a store bought game and a backup so that it can tell which code to execute?

    What happens if I upgrade after I have installed CIOSCorp, without first uninstalling CIOSCorp? Will it brick my Wii?

    If a brand new game comes out that includes its own updated IOS, does that mean I won't be able to play it since I'm running an outdated version of that IOS?
    If someone created a new cIOS from that updated IOS and we installed it over all the IOS's again, would that correct the problem and let us run the most up to date games?

    Oh, and if I simply install the MIOS patch from WiiGator's GC backup launcher, will CIOSCorp do the rest?
     
  2. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you ask so many questions?
    Does it really matter how it works?
    1.Don't know
    2.Don't know
    3.Something to do with hardware i believe
    4.No it doesn't wii bought games run at 6x backups run at 3x
    5.Um not sure how it tells the difference.
    6.No it won't brick your wii but it will be removed
    7.Not in many cases the game is going to run on a ios you already have most of the times .
    8.probably.
    9.Don't know what you mean by do the rest?
     
  3. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    CIOSCorp "installs" the Trucha bug into every IOS on the Wii, so that any game can be run. Backups use the Trucha Bug to fakesign the Wii and make it look like it's a retail game so that it can be played.

    The 3x speed is a limitation of the Wii I believe, but retail games can paly at 6x and so can some modchips. And the difference is minimal, maybe a few seconds here and there but you wouldn't really notice.

    After updgrading with CIOSCorp... I don't know. Don't do it unless a guide tells you to.

    And if a new game comes out then someone will probably get it to work within a few days.

    MIOS and CIOS are completely different. MIOS for Gamecube on the Wii, IOS for Wii

    And the c in cIOS is for custom (Or cMIOS which is custom MIOS)


    And why so many questions? You can look this stuff up.
     
  4. craigrs84
    OP

    Newcomer craigrs84 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Because I am curious. Absolutely it matters.
     
  5. Joey Ravn

    Member Joey Ravn F*** you, Nintendo!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,337
    Country:
    Spain
    Most of your questions have been already answered a thousand times. If you had actually taken the time to search a bit before posting, you could have found them yourself. Don't say you're curious if you expect everything to be delivered to you in your first post. Start here. And I suggest you read this topic if you want to have a nice GBATemp experience.
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you don't want improvements from people new to Wii hacking, but capable of unbelievable stuff, then it doesn't matter how it works.


    cioscorp is a package of several cIOS which replace all IOS (maybe except IOS4) on the Wii. All IOS with a seperate dip module, have this replaced with the backup dip from Gamma, and the others which only have 1 content file, are replaced with either WiiGator's or Waninkoko's cIOS36rev7(i don't know which one they used). Inserting the backup dip into IOS30, results in the disc channel identifying backups and originals.

    If you play a game from the disc channel on a 3.2 Wii, the game is identified with IOS30, and then the disc channel looks which IOS is wanted by the game, and if you start the game that IOS is loaded right before the game is started. If that IOS is a backup cIOS you get backup play.
     
  8. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry about what I posted it's just that most of the stuff he asked is answered in the Wii hacking forum.
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry too. I didn't see your edit, you actually answered some of the questions.
     
  10. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ya I did I felt bad for answering the way I did so I changed my thing and answered some of his questions.
     
  11. Jytach

    Member Jytach GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Brazil
    Just to give you a little help, IOS stands for Input/Output System, they control how your wii will behave.
    You probably know something like it, the bIOS (b for basic) of your motherboard i.e.
    The "c" in cIOS stands for custom.
     
  12. craigrs84
    OP

    Newcomer craigrs84 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks guys. I did search before I posted but probably not extensively enough. I think my main hangup was that I was searching mainly for CIOSCorp but most my questions are really more about how CIOS works.

    I found a good thread here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=128...amp;hl=cioscorp
     

Share This Page