How do you use the Real Time Guide?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by bwsaw, Aug 16, 2008.

Aug 16, 2008
  1. bwsaw
    OP

    Newcomer bwsaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Erm...someone mentioned it before, but I havnt seen it mentioned since, so Im not sure whether it actually exists, but it seems REALLY helpful. Does anyone know how to set this up?
     


  2. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    You need to download the beta and also need to read the manual to learn how to use it?
     
  3. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Be sure to name the txt file the same as the game you want to use it with. (e.g. FFIV.nds --> FFIV.txt)

    Place it in the same folder as the game, and the next time you play that game and go into the ingame menu, you can use it.

    Feel free to use linebreaker as well, you can find it on the official Team Cyclops forums.
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Highlight and copy a guide from someplace like GameFAQs, save it as a .txt file in the exact same name as the ROM you'll be using it with.

    While playing the you created the txt file for, hit X+Y+A+B+L+R to get to the Cyclo's menu. Select "Text Reader". Read what you need and go back to the game.

    For the best results, use firmware version 1.5beta2.

    Hope that helps ya! [​IMG]
     
  5. bwsaw
    OP

    Newcomer bwsaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    It didnt work for me...heres EXACTLY what I did.

    1. All games in the root of the SD card
    2. Copyied a guide onto word, and then saved it as .txt file.
    3. (Name of the game is) Advance Wars - Duel Strike
    4. Named the txt. file Advance Wars - Duel Strike
    5. Nothing changes on the Cyclo menu. I dont even see the selection "Text Reader"

    But thanks for the help so far guys [​IMG]
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You need one of the v1.5 beta loaders, as this feature doesn't exist in 1.4x. They just released 1.5 beta 2, so you'll probably want that one.
     
  7. bwsaw
    OP

    Newcomer bwsaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    I do have Beta 2 1.5...

    Posts merged

    The folder containing it is currently in the root. Do I need to do anything with it or change any of its contents?
     
  8. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You mentioned you used word, which means it might not be a .txt at all. It might be a whatever.txt.doc.
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Did you enable it in the CycloDS home menu? (Not the in-game menu)

    And yes, you have to use Wordpad or Notepad, not Word. Simply naming a file (blank).txt does not convert it into a .txt file.
     
  10. bwsaw
    OP

    Newcomer bwsaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    So what is the proper way to convert it?

    p.s. it is labeled : Advance Wars - Duel Strike.txt
    Text Document
    151 kb

    Posts merged

    There is no option to enable it...what does your option say?
     
  11. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Copy everything and paste it onto Notepad. Then save it, it should be a .txt file by default.

    I don't know if there is supposed to be an option or not. Just make sure you have the beta firmware.
     
  12. bwsaw
    OP

    Newcomer bwsaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    When I name the txt document, do I just need to put Advance Wars - Duel strike, or do I need to put, Advance Wars - Duel Strike (U)
     
  13. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Whatever the hell your ROM's name is, name the .txt file the same thing.

    For example, name your ROM "a" and name your text file "a" too. It should work then.
     
  14. bwsaw
    OP

    Newcomer bwsaw Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Last thing. I put them both in the root? Or do I need a seperate file. Sorry for my nubishness
     
  15. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Put the text file in the same directory as your ROM file is, and name it the identical filename of the ROM except for the .nds part at the end. So if you have "Final Fantasy IV (U).nds", your text file will be named "Final Fantasy IV (U).txt".
     
  16. Balrogs.Pain

    Member Balrogs.Pain GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    maryland
    Country:
    United States
    So thats how you use the real time guide. . . i had no clue what it was for at first, now i dont need to keep looking on IGN for where all the stupid courage gems are. .

    Edit: 100th post! Yay!
     
  17. Tatsu

    Newcomer Tatsu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I for one can't wait for this feature! I don't really like to use guides but sometimes if something is just taking too much time to figure out I like to look at a guide for some hints. I have to stop playing my game, go on my computer, search for a guide/cheat site, find the game, and search through the whole thing to find where I'm at. This would really make it less of an interruption and is handy for reference about a certain topic of a game. hopefully there will be a bookmarking feature to bookmark certain areas for fast access.
     
  18. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You realise this feature is already out?
     
  19. Tatsu

    Newcomer Tatsu Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Yes i know it came out in the beta, let me re-phrase " I for one can't wait until this feature comes out of beta and is included in the new firmware release"
     
  20. Vincent T

    Member Vincent T GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    Country:
    United States
    the in game text reader is already out. it is still in its beta. you can use 1.5 BETA 2.
     

Share This Page