Hacking How do you play PAL games on NTSC?

Squishy Crayons

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have a NTSC Wii with Gamma Backup Launcher 0.3 installed. All of my NTSC games work just fine (DVD-R TDK brand).

But I have a version a PAL version of Smackdown vs Raw 2009 and it clears on all the compatibility lists.

I did the same as I do with every other game and popped it in the Wii and run Backup Launcher. I got a DVD Error 324. Then I forced NTSC on and same thing happened.

Is it possible to play PAL games on a NTSC Wii yet?

Jdbye

Always Remember 30/07/08
Suspended
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
IIRC, if you use 480p with a component cable, all PAL games that support 480p will work on a NTSC TV.

I'm not that experienced with backup launchers, I have a modchip. That error doesn't sound related to the video output though, if that was the (only) problem, the picture would most likely not display or just display in black and white.

david432111

Trophies
XP
Country
Squishy Crayons said:
I have a NTSC Wii with Gamma Backup Launcher 0.3 installed. All of my NTSC games work just fine (DVD-R TDK brand).

But I have a version a PAL version of Smackdown vs Raw 2009 and it clears on all the compatibility lists.

I did the same as I do with every other game and popped it in the Wii and run Backup Launcher. I got a DVD Error 324. Then I forced NTSC on and same thing happened.

Error 324 means that the disk cannot be read. That could happen because the media is bad or it's a a bad burn not because you can't play pal games.

Is it possible to play PAL games on a NTSC Wii yet?
Yes.

Squishy Crayons

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
No. I burned to a DVD-R.

If it is possible to play PAL games on NTSC Wii, what's the process? Is it exactly like burning a NTSC game? Or is there a secret ingredient involved?

WiiPower

Trophies
XP
Country
Gambia, The