Homebrew How do you hack/mod Old 3DS version 11.5.0-38.U

Anthea

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi! I'm new to the whole homebrew thing so if anyone has the time would you please explain to me how to do it. I've read countless forums and threads explaining how to do it but either their outdated or I have too many questions to proceed. I have the following questions:

1. What does it mean when the 3DS "hard bricks" or "bricks"? Why does it happen?
2. What are some reliable tutorials and links?
3. Is there a way to hack my 3DS with my current version?
4. Any videos? I'm more of a visual learner
5. Will I ever succeed in downloading homebrew on my 3DS? I feel that it's hopeless and I'm too much of a dunce to comprehend all the computer terms people are throwing at me in forums

I would really appreciate if you helped to answer any of these questions. Any tidbit of information would be valuable to me. Thank you in advance :) <3

mrjc1238

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
1. When a 3DS bricks, it means that the console is no longer able to boot for some reason. There's two types: soft bricks and hard bricks
With a soft brick, the console is still easily recoverable, and can usually be done with the system's built in recovery mode.
A hard brick, on the other hand, used to be recoverable only by hardmod or sometimes not at all. However, with the recently released NTRBoot, all bricks are now recoverable.

2 The best tutorial for 3DS homebrew installation is https://3ds.guide/ which has all files and step by step guides for it's installation, and for all versions that can be hacked as well.

3. On 11.5, there are 3 methods available to homebrew.
1. DSiWare
2. Hardmod
3. NTRBoot / magnethax
DSiWare requires two 3DS, one of which has one of the required games listed on these pages:
https://3ds.guide/installing-boot9strap-(dsiware-game-injection)
https://3ds.guide/installing-boot9strap-(dsiware-save-injection)