How do I get this to appear in Firefox?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Harsky, Dec 8, 2009.

Dec 8, 2009
  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm currently using a friend's PC and it's been customised a bit but one of the thing I really liked was this:

    [​IMG]

    Where highlighting a certain text shows up a blue box which you then click and then it takes you to several search engines. Google throws up too many suggestions but which one has this one?
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    Why not just check his Add-ons menu? It will definitely narrow down your search. Hell, why not just ask him?
     
  4. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It does it in IE8, so maybe it's something to do with bing?
     
  5. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Add-ons menu is fairly bare and only has Adblock and Downthemall.

    That said, I did try out Fasterfirefox and it didn't appeal to me.
     
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    1•
    If you click the popup window's "option...", don't you have the add-on option showing with it's name ?
    "preferences for xxxxx"

    my addon has it's name written here [​IMG]


    2•
    Another way to do it :
    type in your address bar : about:config
    then search for "extensions", this will show all the preferences for the extensions, with their names.
    (of course that is if the developer registered the option in the right place, he could have registered it to "my.extension_name.option_name" instead of "extensions.extension_name.option_name")

    extensions.dta is for downthemall
    and
    extensions.addblockplus for ... yes [​IMG]
    so
    the other one should be the one you are looking for.


    3•
    Again, another way : (maybe need a little knowledge, and an additional add-on installation)

    Install DOM inspector (it's a debugging/dev tools)
    Open your popup's "option..." window
    Open the DOM inspector "tools/DOM inspector"
    select "File/inspect chome document" and pick the option window.
    You will have the path to the window option written in your DOM inspector, like "chrome:///content/option.xul
    or the path to the real folder it is located if it's an external addon (fille:///c:/user/etc.)


    This is just weird there's no other add-on in the addon manager, maybe it's a plugins ? (like cooliris)
    What is bing ? (I didn't google it, I admit)
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think it's safe to say that it definitely isn't an addon.

    The option window when I highlight and click it just shows a dictionary and that's it.
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    thanks for bing things.


    @Harsky: It might come from somewhere, if it's not in firefox it must be installed in his computer to interact with firefox (or with any navigator ?)
    did you checked his list of installed software in "add&remove" from control panel?


    Too bad, there's no picture searching engine (google might create it, upload one, search the web for identical one [​IMG])
     
  10. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] Google will think of that one day
     
  11. FencingFoxFTW

    Member FencingFoxFTW GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I dunno about FF, but Opera has that feature out of the box

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I'd seen it before with Firefox but don't remember where sadly as it was a loooong time ago.

    If you want to search images that are similar, try tineye.com

    This isn't what you're looking for but it comes close:
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1941
     
  13. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,455
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Ohh, thank you for TinEye [​IMG]
    That's what I needed

    I tested the logo from Harsky's first post, but TinEye doesn't work with pictures less than 100*100px.



    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     

Share This Page