How common is the psram error

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by AeroHex, Oct 4, 2008.

Oct 4, 2008

How common is the psram error by AeroHex at 9:47 AM (2,816 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    i was told supercards are good and have lots of features

    but i see lots of people having psram errors how common is it has it been fixed

    i bought it at dx and its comming soon but im scared it will happen to me

    whats dose the psram do?stop it from loading/loading games & hb?
     


  2. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I got mine from DX a few weeks back. I got one with the PSRAM error. It causes most games to freeze or refuse to boot. It's pretty serious. You can fix it sometimes, but a card shouldn't require you to open it up every 24 hours to get it working.

    I like the Supercard's features and when it works, it's awesome. The problem is that it sometimes doesn't work.

    I'm against buying Supercard problems until they fix the issue, which they seem uninterested in doing.

    Possible solutions are:

    1- opening the card up and putting a piece of paper (or I've heard foil) between the exposed back of the label and the chip board.

    2- following the instructions here:

    http://forum.supercard.cn/viewthread.php?t...;extra=page%3D1

    Number 1 didn't work for me, but it's worked for some people. Number 2 is only temporary. You can do the step and your card will work properly for about 24 hours without a problem, and then the error will return. You can keep doing the solution every day and it will work, but that's trouble.
     
  3. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    i just hope it will work no problems [​IMG]
     
  4. DivineZeus

    Member DivineZeus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Rovigo, Republic of Venice
    Country:
    Italy
    Never seen this psram error on my SCDS1... :wtf:
     
  5. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't happen on all of them.
     
  6. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive had two V3's with psram errors but ive send them both back & got replacements one was from DX a couple of months back
    DX payed for the return delivery so it didnt cost anything extra but it was well over a month round trip
    i ended up selling both my scdsones to buy a cyclods evo & have been very happy ever since!!
     
  7. evanft

    Newcomer evanft Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I just ran the test on mine a couple days ago and didn't get the error, so here's hoping it stays that way *knocks on wood*

    Is this a problem that would arise early in the card's life, or is it random?
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The issue was very common a good while ago (I'm guessing 6 months to a year ago) and then it stopped suddenly. However, it appears that in the past few weeks more and more people are getting the PSRAM error again. I'm guessing that the cause is merely a faulty batch (this was my guess last time as well).
     
  9. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    oh dear god

    Posts merged

    oh dear god
     
  10. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    What? Did you get the error? If you do, we can help you a little, or you can return it.
     
  11. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    no its still coming but it seems the new batches are faulty.. [​IMG]
     
  12. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Not necessarily. You have a decent chance of getting a good one. Stay positive until you get it!
     
  13. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    ok ok thanks
     
  14. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    I believe it has to do with latest 'new packaging' batches. The PSRAM error problem existed a while back but was all but eradicated in due time. Now it's back. Actually I believe it was a little BEFORE the packaging redesign that they redesigned the shell. It's the Supercards which have a little dent on the side that seem to get the errors...
     
  15. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    i found out how to fix it [​IMG] here
    aluminum as in coke can i guess [​IMG] i hope i helped some people
     
  16. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It's actually thinner than a can. And this doesn't always work.

    I did the same thing with paper and the battery shorting trick and it seems to be working.
     
  17. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    [​IMG] paper?its meant to be like a heat sink metal =cooler paper = [​IMG] wtf
     
  18. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I know, but paper works too:



    Just not as well. The foil method hasn't been thoroughly tested enough to see whether it causes more issues than it fixes.
     
  19. AeroHex
    OP

    Banned AeroHex Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    Australia
    did paper work for you for to have to sit in my fridge to play it if it get the psram error
     
  20. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It seems to be working fine. I first put the paper in and then flashed the battery to give it a fresh reset. This may not work for everyone, but it seems fine for me.

    And that sentence barely makes any sense. I can't really tell whether you are serious or joking.
     

Share This Page