How can I make cheats work on games?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by SG, Oct 18, 2010.

Oct 18, 2010

How can I make cheats work on games? by SG at 9:57 PM (1,563 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been Googling lots and I still can't figure out how to apply cheats to games. I don't understand any of the technical jargon, and I don't know what I need. Here is what I DO know:

    I need Gecko OS. Apparently it now has Ocarina integrated into it. I have the latest version.

    Do I also need Cheat Manager? If so, what's going on with Gecko's cheat function?

    I know how to get codes but not how to create them in a .txt doc or where to put them on the SD card, nor how to enable or disable them.

    Hopefully someone can explain to me in idiot terms what to do!

    Finally, is there a way to cheat on Gamecube games too?
     
  2. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    Short answer: Use Arccio Hacks or a usb loader with a build in cheat manager.
     
  3. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    accio hacks for almost any system.
    We need more info from you.
    Do you use a USB loader/drive to play off of?
    Or discs?
    Wii games? Wiiware? Virtual Console?
    Accio hacks has an app for your homebrew channel.
    Are you setup for Wifi for the Wii?
    If I were you, i'd use Configurable USB loader, put your Wii games on a USB drive,
    get your WIFI on, and from there as you are in the games menu, you can download ocarina cheats that automatically go to your SD card, no user input involved. Its that simple. And format your USB ext. drive to FAT32 first.
     
  4. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for replying.

    No USB Loader. No wifi,I will have in a few months but I want to be able to do things in the meantime.

    Its for legit retail Wii games.

    So Acco is another cheat app? How does it differ from Gecko?
     
  5. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
  6. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Accio get the .txt files containing the raw cheats, turns your selected cheats into .gct files (cheats stored in hex) and puts them into the right folder.
    Then you launch Gecko OS with the game in, click Start Game or whatever, and there you go!

    BTW, If you want Brawl cheats, just PM me, I have TONS of them, including hacked stages, music and CHARACTERS!
     
  7. Prior22

    Member Prior22 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Country:
    United States
    Any cheat app I could use for VC releases or roms for emulators like SNES9x GX? The easier to use the better [​IMG]
     
  8. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, so I've downloaded it and put it 'apps' on my SD but how do I go about creating .gct files from codes?
     
  9. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    you need cheat manager, use it on your PC,with it, open the text file, click the cheats you want enabled, make sure your SD card is in your pc, choose save as gct, it'll automatically put em there onto your SD card in a folder called codes
     
  10. SG
    OP

    Member SG GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, tried it on with Gecko and it works. So... what need is there for Accio?
     

Share This Page