HoTD Overkill crashes during gameplay

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by thatcoolguy, Feb 25, 2009.

Feb 25, 2009
  1. thatcoolguy
    OP

    Newcomer thatcoolguy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Australia
    OK, i have here HoTD overkill which i have burned to a Verbatim DVD-R successfully verified and all of that. it launches in gamma with no prob i can make my gamesave and start the game everything looks fantastic. then i got to the first boss fight (Jasper?) and part way through the game just crashed. the screen was frozen and a high pitched drone was audible. the game wouldn't respond to the home button or reset or anything, i had to turn off the system by holding the power button on the wii. using PAL iso for my PAL wii, anyone knows what's up? it works perfectly when it IS working. i have IOS249 as the wiki thing states i should require (that's what gamma is showing at the bottom of the screen).
     
  2. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,239
    Country:
    United States
    it's most likely just a bad burn.
     
  3. cdn_bacon

    Newcomer cdn_bacon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Canada
    The game has been known to lock up and freeze as it is pretty glitchy. It may not be a bad burn. Try to play through it again.
     
  4. sleestax

    Newcomer sleestax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    mine did it in the EXACT (well, midway through the Jasper fight) same place the first time I played it. reset the wii, loaded the game and played it to the first boss again and it was fine. I'm up to the 4th level now and haven't had anymore problems.
     
  5. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    I noticed it was lags from time to time and sometime freeze about a second or two. Is it normal ? Did they released it too quickly?
     
  6. cdn_bacon

    Newcomer cdn_bacon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Canada
    That is normal. The game has some lag here and there and does crash on occasion.
     
  7. TeenTin

    Member TeenTin GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,217
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Even happen to the original disc ?
     
  8. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    He said that is normal so I guess it even happen to the original disc.. Right, cdn_bacon ?
     
  9. thatcoolguy
    OP

    Newcomer thatcoolguy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks for the replies guys. yeah i heard the game is kind of buggy and it stutters at times but i didn't expect a total crash. i waited about 20 seconds after it crashed before i thought it's not going to respond again. i will try it again soon.
     
  10. shadowmanr6

    Newcomer shadowmanr6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    is ios249 needed for a certain portion of the game, i burned the game as normal before it got posted on the wiki, and played through the 1st level and it never had a problem, can anyone confirm that iso249 is neccessary for the whole game?
     
  11. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    game works perfect for me, slight lag now and agen, no crashes tho
     
  12. thatcoolguy
    OP

    Newcomer thatcoolguy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Australia
    ok, i beat Jasper and a couple levels after that there's no crashes since the one in the OP...looks like i'm fine, i added a note on the gamma wiki since the crash would probably make people think they screwed up. yeah i get slight lag every now and then but that's apparently part of the original too.
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,503
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Same here.
     
  14. sgwiiboy

    Member sgwiiboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I burned before the wiki posting too so I didn't patch the ios to 249. I have played all levels through 2-3 times in some cases, with and without extra zombies as well as playing DC too and I have only had one crash on my second time in DC.
     
  15. anotherlostgamer

    Newcomer anotherlostgamer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    Mine is failing from the beggining. I have a wii modchip (wiikey), the game totally freezes from the begginign. Pitch black screen, wiimote doesn`t respond, i have to plug it out to turn it off. Anyone knows why? I'm getting desesperate! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page