homebrew without a dvd drive possible?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Scorpei, Mar 6, 2009.

Mar 6, 2009
  1. Scorpei
    OP

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I asked this a while back but I'm kinda hoping people are now more willing to try for me / have checked this [​IMG]. I was wondering wether running homebrew is possible without a drive installed. Naturally the drive is needed for the twilight hack and etc., but after that can one start and run for example the homebrew channel without problems without a drive?

    An official channel dies shortly after you start it when a drive is absent in the Wii, hence the question. Cheers to anyone who knows [​IMG]. Seeing as I have a fully working Wii here that only misses the drive it would be great if I could set it up to for example run linux and be my WOL-box.
     
  2. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,164
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I too recommend to get a flatmii, for now it's the best alternative if you don't have a drive. Maybe you should ask someone with a flatmii if the HBC works with only a flatmii connected(without drive) and no pc connected)

    I guess the homebrew disc channel doesn't really replace the disc channel it's just another homebrew channel.
     
  4. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,164
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was under the impression you could make a homebrew disc, boot it via HBDC, and in this case, try load it (as an iso) via flatmii instead of a physical dvd drive?
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I think the problem is that the Wii can't run ANYTHING when it doesn't detect a drive. But a flatmii can fully replace a drive, that's why i will consider buying one when my drive dies.
     
  6. Scorpei
    OP

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @WiiPower, that is indeed the problem. The system menu works perfectly fine (the channel part) however as when a channel, regardless of which is STARTED by hitting the start button the channel starts but soon gives a black screen. The question in this is of course if, when using homebrew, this problem isn't there. Or indeed if when using flatmii the problem isn't there (which I would expect, but we can't be sure of course until someone tries [​IMG]).
     

Share This Page