Homebrew Channel Bubbles Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by personager, May 27, 2009.

May 27, 2009
  1. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I installed Homebrew Channel and DVDX successfully through BannerBomb and BootMii on my 4.0E Wii. Now, when I run the Homebrew Channel it only shows bubbles and this little icon on the bottom right of the screen keeps flashing. I've put all my applications in a folder called apps (which is on the root of the SDHC card) and renamed the applications to boot.dol and put those in their respective folders that I created (in the apps folder). I have a 4GB Sandisk MicroSDHC that is put into a SD Card adapter. Some people say that some SDHC cards are incompatible with the Homebrew Channel. Can that be the case. All answers and opinions are welcome

    Thanks
     


  2. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes problem is sdhc card i guess
    try the card u used to install hbc
     
  3. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the card I used to install the Homebrew Channel. The Wii's reading the card, it's HBC that's not. That's the problem
     
  4. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    does hbc boot if the card is empty?
     
  5. Bergkees

    Newcomer Bergkees Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Tndrtsnprktk
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The HBC 1.0.2 that comes with bootmii has problems with accessing sdhc cards.
    You can either wait for the fix or try a normal sd card
    (or install hbc 1.01)
     
  6. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure what you mean. The problem is that when I start HBC only bubbles show up. So, if the cards empty I'm sure the same thing's bound to happen
     
  7. NightKry

    Member NightKry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Like, here?
    Country:
    Canada
    I actually have a 4gig Kingston SDHC, and it works with HBC. The only thing it does not work with is WADmanager... I have to borrow my friend's SD card when I install wiiware/channels.
     
  8. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really? I've never heard that one before
     
  9. hans0l0

    Newcomer hans0l0 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    you need to either use a non-sdhc card "=
     
  10. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's because you have to install cIOS Rev10 for it to support SDHCs

    Can anyone else help me out?
     
  11. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  12. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the easiest way out for me is to transfer all my files in my MicroSDHC card into a normal SD Card and use that, right?
     
  13. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Yep.
     
  14. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see. That's some more money out of my pocket. What a waste of a MicroSDHC card.....I guess I'll just use it for my DSTT
     
  15. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the problem isn't the bubbles [​IMG] that is the normal hbc animation. The problem is the hbc cannot read your sdhc card. that i why i said empty the card to see if hbc will open, because it won't try to read stuff perhaps.. (maybe your data is corrupted on yer sdhc or a bad .dol) About those emulators of yours with sdhc support.. the EMULATORS can read sdhc, but HBC cannot! So you can't boot them, see? Those emulators support loading roms from sdhc, the sdhc support has nothing to do with them showing up or not in hbc. So install HBC 1.01 or use an sd card, they are SUPER cheap
    Or, use usb @ the latest hbc.. take out your sdhc card and it will try to find stuff on usb.
     
  16. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all of your answers guys. I'll probably just get a 2GB SD Card and transfer all my files from my SDHC card into that. That seems the easiest way to get what I want, less hassle.
     
  17. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    I would use the hackmii installer to uninstall homebrew channel... then use bannerbomb to install homebrew channel 1.0.1

    had the same problem as you did... this worked...
     
  18. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This may sound stupid but can't I just uninstall the Homebrew Channel through the Wii's data management?
     
  19. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    yes.. but it leaves the ticket... I would prefer the clean uninstall from hackmii installer... then fresh install of 1.01
     
  20. personager
    OP

    Member personager GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see, and how exactly shall I uninstall it using the HackMii Installer (BootMii)? The same way I installed it?
     

Share This Page