Homebrew Black Screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Crimson-X, Jun 23, 2011.

Jun 23, 2011

Homebrew Black Screen by Crimson-X at 4:59 AM (3,584 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii was hacked several years ago and has worked perfectly all of the time. Last night, when I clicked on the Homebrew Channel, I only got a black screen and nothing else. I re-installed it and still the same results. I even updated to 4.3u and re-installed, again still a black screen. None of my Homebrew forwarding channels work either. I checked all of the other stock channels and they work fine. This really bites, I really want to play my Wii games on my external HDD and now I can't play anything. Is this a possible NAND corruption? I lost my NAND on my other external HDD when a power surge fried it. Any suggestions? Thnx for your time! [​IMG]
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you should try a fresh softmod with ModMii. It's a pretty fast process.
     
  3. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    I'll give it a shot and see what that will do. Thnx!! [​IMG]
     
  4. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,126
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    The nand is the internal hard drive of the wii. If that was corrupted, you wouldn't be able to see the system menu in the first place. It's more likely that your SD card (or USB drive, depending on where you run your homebrew) is corrupted. Did you check those in your computer?

    It's strange the HBC (which resides on the nand) doesn't run, though. You installed the latest version, right? (1.0.8)
     
  5. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps your ios58 is jacked, reinstall ios58 then reinstall HBC
     
  6. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    I tried the SD card in the computer and it works just fine. How can I re-install the IOS when I can't get into HBC? I really appreciate the help you guys are giving. [​IMG]
     
  7. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States

    Yes. I used the simplisticmod 4.3 smash stack. This is indeed a strange thing to happen all of a sudden.
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,126
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Let's see...you will need this installer and an exploit (smash stack will probably work fine).


    The procedure to install the HBC on a virgin wii can be broken up into 2 parts:
    1. use an exploit to install something from the SD without the wii complaining about it.
    2. that "something" is usually the HBC installer (boot.elf, IIRC).

    So what you have to do is a combination of the two: use the smash stack as normal, but put the boot.dol from the IOS58 installer in its place. Let it reinstall IOS58...

    ...and then follow the same procedure, but with the hackmii installer instead.




    I hope it helps, but I must admit I have my doubts. IOS58 is normally also installed when updating to 4.3. mauifrog can certainly be right that it may have been jacked somehow, but that certainly doesn't happen often.
     
  9. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    I'll give that a shot. I will try it before I go to bed. Thanks again for the assistance! [​IMG]
     
  10. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    When you say put the boot.dol in it's place, exactly where do I put it?
     
  11. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    to launch from an exploit, it would need to go in the root of your SD card....
     
  12. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States

    I got this message when I put the boot.dol from the ios58 installer in the root of the sd card

    Cleaning up enviroment.... Eventhook release failed with code 0
    OK.
    SD card detected
    Opening boot.elf:
    boot.elf not found (-1)
    USBGecko not found
    No code found to load, hanging.

    This really blows. I wonder if there is a way to completely downgrade it to it's original factory firmware without homebrew? I really miss playing my emus... This makes me a saaad panda.
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Not all exploits run dol files, so you will need it converted into an elf file. If you or someone else hasn't done it by tomorrow, I'll make it for you. It's really late so I don't have time right now.
     
  14. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. I tried a dol to elf converter and it wouldn't work at all. I'll just have you give me a link to the ios58 installer file. I hope this works. If it doesn't, should I have my wii's nand re-flashed to factory?
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I thought of an easier way.
    Extract the contents of this to the root of your SD card, overwriting files if prompted.

    If you have wifi on your Wii:
    Use smash stack to load MMM and select IOS Manager. Go to IOS58 and install the newest version. Download from NUS and don't apply any patches. Reinstall the HBC.

    If you do not have wifi on your Wii:
    Use ModMii to download IOS58 and put it in "SD:\wad\". Load MMM with smash stack and choose Wad Manager. Find IOS58-64-v6176.wad and press A twice to install it. Reinstall the HBC.
     
  16. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    I got the IOS installed and now the hackmii installer freezes at the "software must not be sold" screen. Damn!! [​IMG]
     
  17. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] You guys are not gonna believe this crap, but thanks to my black lab, I found out what is wrong with my Wii. She was wagging her tail and it jerked the USB plug out and HBC came up. I plugged it back in and the screen went black. That is some funny sh!t. And who said dogs were stupid, lolz. Well, now that I know it is the USB that is messing it up, I wonder if it can be fixed.
     
  18. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know if the USB port can be fixed? My HBC works unless the external HDD is inserted in the USB port. I really miss playing Wii games.
     
  19. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Try to load the usbloader without the hd pluged in, then plug it in when it starts to load. It could be your hd, try another.
     
  20. Crimson-X
    OP

    Newcomer Crimson-X PC builder and Wii Softmodding

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Western Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    I tried my external on another modded wii and it works perfectly. This is pretty strange.
     

Share This Page