Homebrew HID to VPAD + Retroarch?

Resident Stevil

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
308
Country
United States
Has anybody found a way to get these two to work together somehow? I would very much like to use my iBuffalo USB Gamepad in Retroarch. Going back through the homebrew launcher just returns me to the HID to VPAD application.
 

H1B1Esquire

RxTools, the ultimate CFW machine.
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2016
Messages
3,556
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Earth, bro-dude.
XP
2,526
Country
United States
I haven't done it or looked in to it, but couldn't you have retroarch installed as a channel? I figure if HID to VPAD is running, using the retroarch channel (if possible) would get around using HBL.
 

Resident Stevil

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
308
Country
United States
I haven't done it or looked in to it, but couldn't you have retroarch installed as a channel? I figure if HID to VPAD is running, using the retroarch channel (if possible) would get around using HBL.

I looked into that but I can't find a way to install it as a channel, unless I'm missing something.
 

Resident Stevil

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Messages
88
Trophies
0
XP
308
Country
United States
You can't install an actual channel, only the forwarder. As of now, there are only a handful of apps that have been created as actual channels.

Well that's essentially what I meant, but like I said, there doesn't seem to be any forwarders for Retroarch on the Wii U.
 

Nigleet

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 19, 2017
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Location
Aidsville, Cancerland
XP
615
Country
Canada
Well that's essentially what I meant, but like I said, there doesn't seem to be any forwarders for Retroarch on the Wii U.
There most definitely is. That does not solve the problem. HID to VPAD needs to be integrated into Retroarch.

If you were interested in the forwarder:

"Until I make an "official" version that will maybe make sure your cores are up to date, I made a RetroArch Channel you can download here - http://www.mediafire.com/file/h8bso6s87u1ls38/RetroArch_Launcher.7z

It works with the new system, so you must have cores in the sd:/retroarch/cores folder and the info files in the sd:/retroarch/cores/info folder.

Also, if you installed the Libretro SNES9x Channel I made, you must delete that first, since this uses the same Title ID."

****Use the 1.4.1 cores. 1.5 is broken.* 1.4.1 cores: RetroArch_rpx.7z2017-02-02 15:4319.7 MB
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I haven't done it or looked in to it, but couldn't you have retroarch installed as a channel? I figure if HID to VPAD is running, using the retroarch channel (if possible) would get around using HBL.
Nope, if HIDtoVPAD is running in memory, it crashes instantly.
RetroArch takes whole memory pool or something.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
@Felek666

So has this become, 'drc-sim+RetroArch'?
drc-sim requires a 5GHz broadband card, something which is very expensive nowadays.
This is not an option for everyone, it also requires alot of work to get correct drivers and even this damn program itself running on Linux. You'll also need controller drivers which is another problem because... well, Linux. If you have 2GHz [or 2.5GHz] card then forget about it. You will hardly even get stable 480p.
 

SlimPortable

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2015
Messages
275
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
139
Country
United States
I asked in the main RetroArch thread before. Like others said the channel route isn't possible right now. It can work by being integrated into the RetroArch app but it would be up to the devs to do that. There hasn't been much updates to Wii U lately so something like this probably isn't interestingly them. Hopefully they'll consider it eventually though.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • phalk @ phalk:
    Assembler is something I always wanted to learn
    Gift
  • phalk @ phalk:
    but.... nah
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No point really.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Even the simplest device these days runs some sort of high level language.
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Veho all the IT stuff i've learned in school has been extremely basic... i knew most of it already
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it's better to learn on your own, it goes much faster than the snail pace they teach you at in school
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembly is actually great, gets you to run everything about 80% faster than C massaged code
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    assembler syntax is dead easy, but "how to put pieces together" logic requires to have in mind the original idea, and the CPU layout, and that's like double the work of C stuff. It's best to write C first, add some unit tests, then go assembly, then run the unit tests
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    it can run faster than compiled code, but modern compilers are really good at optimization and you need to be even better at assembly to do a better job
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    with that all your assembler base will actually work
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    even on embedded systems, without a damned debugger
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    syntax is easy but the code is hard to read, you can't look at a piece of code and expect to understand it without looking at all the code around it to see how it all works together so it takes much longer to read the code, it takes longer to write it too because what might be 1 line of code in C might be 20 lines of assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the language is very simple to understand (because it's barely a language at all) understanding how all the instructions work together to form a whole is another matter, in general it's such a pain to work with that i would never recommend it unless you have a need for it. don't listen to this guy and learn assembly just because you want to make your code run faster, you are wasting your time, but if you run into a situation where your code isn't fast enough even after you enabled -Ofast and you NEED it to be faster, then you can consider assembly
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Coto have you tried -Ofast btw? ;)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I have o fast before but I suspect we are talking different Os lol
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    @The Real Jdbye quite idiotic and frankly, bu
    llshit points as usual you make. Not only because you have no idea what you're talking about, but also because there is proof (both i've seen and maintained) in regards to C and hand-written assembler code, and the speed gain is simply over half the framerate.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    gbaemu4ds's C ARM and THUMB CPU emulator and GBARunner2's ARM and THUMB handcoded assembly. Just run Yoshi's Island GBA and compare it by yourself.
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    or SnemulDS's C CPU Core vs SnemulDS SnezziDS ARM core. The first running at about 45% (half the speed) vs ~105% (full speed)
    Gift
  • Coto @ Coto:
    yeah, keep believing -Ofast will make everything faster.
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    Must ambulate quickly! ~Sonic (a hedgehog)
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Gotta Go Fast diarrhea makes a horrible sound, blue skin and super sick... Probably food poisoning from bad chili dogs.
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Huh Betty white was born on mlk day
    Gift
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Huh Betty white was born on mlk day