HELP!!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TJAY107, Jan 8, 2011.

Jan 8, 2011

HELP!! by TJAY107 at 10:05 AM (2,870 Views / 0 Likes) 48 replies

  1. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey.

    A while back I had preloader and homebrew channel installed on my Wii. The Wii has then unwittingly had the firmware updated, and now it doesn't work.

    It boots to the preloader screen, but I can't do anything else.

    I took it to a modchip guy, he couldn't fix it (he attempted to reinstall the boot.dol file), and he directed me to these forums.

    Does anyone know if I have any chance of fixing this? I have some screen shots if this helps.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    I'm a noob so go easy on me.
     


  2. NoBot

    Newcomer NoBot Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Germany
    Is Preloader usable?

    Edit: I think screenshots could help.
     
  3. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    The modchip dude was able to install the boot file, but the file wouldn't load.

    Does this make sense? I'm totally new to this, and had nothing to do with the initial softmod (not helpful, I know!).
     
  4. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    If you can still get to Preloader, you should be able to fix it.

    Are you able to launch any Apps directly from Preloader?

    Do you know how it was updated, via the Net or which exact disk?

    You should be able to download and use either MMM or DOP-Mii to install the latest Original and Custom IOS, and a new System Menu.

    Copy the boot.dol of either of these to the root of your SD card, and try and launch them thru Preloader.

    Let us know the outcome.
     
  5. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    As much as I can gather, apps (.dol files) won't load from preloader, yet you can get into preloader...?

    Can you boot into the SM? Tell us what update you are on.

    But yes, if you are aware of what you are doing, do what C.S.I suggested and try to run a couple of different apps from preloader.
     
  6. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for all help thus far.

    Can't boot to the SM. I will have a go at what C.S.I suggested.

    SM v418
    preloader v0.29
     
  7. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont know anything about Preloader, but with Priiloader 0.4 and above, you can choose to 'install' a boot.dol, (In fact any *.dol) from the root of your sd card, and then launch it directly from Priiloader, or even tell Priiloader to launch it at boot time.

    Your System menu IOS must still be OK as Preloader still runs (you are lucky that even works), but if the update had done your System Menu, your Preloader should have been 'lost'.

    I dont know what SM V418 means.

    Preloader .29 is old, if you manage to get it going, upgrade to Priiloader 0.4 or better.

    But, do NOT install a newer System Menu until you are confident its sorted, as installing a newer System Menu will overwrite Pre(Pri)loader.
     
  8. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    SM v418 is the system menu version.

    I'm now having trouble with the SD card, the Wii just will not recognise it.

    Put the boot.dol file in the SD root directory, but no good.
     
  9. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    System menu v418 is 4.0, so you should be safe to update to 4.1 or 4.2 and use Bannerbomb to remod your . Please feel free to correct if anyone lese feels otherwise
     
  10. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,549
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Is it possible to load the homebrew channel? You don't need to install the file, you should be able to launch files directly. Do you have bootmii boot2?
     
  11. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Homebrew channel doesn't work. As for bootmii or boot2, not sure. What do you mean by load files directly?
     
  12. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,549
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    OK, which options do you have in preloader?
     
  13. lex luthor

    Member lex luthor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    How can the wii automatically updated? Is it by having WC24 on or something?
     
  14. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,549
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    No, that's safe. I don't know what went wrong, but if the system menu update was succesful, preloader would be gone. But the update went wrong because preloader is still there.
     
  15. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Systemmenu
    Homebrew channel
    Installed file
    Load/install file
    Systemmenu hacks
    Settings
     
  16. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hae you checked the hacks list to see if boot to black screen is enabled?
     
  17. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    Checked, that isn't in the list of hacks.
     
  18. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,549
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    OK... What happens if you are trying to launch the homebrew channel?
     
  19. fattest

    Member fattest GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    wait.. you did a system update (intentionally or unintentionally) and now your system menu is v418 4.0E? or was this your version prior to the update? Did you cancel the update in the middle or something?
     
  20. TJAY107
    OP

    Newcomer TJAY107 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Australia
    It says "Error booting HBC, maybe title not installed?"
     

Share This Page