Help with used Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by lippan, Jun 20, 2015.

  1. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    Hi. My first post and hopefully in the right section.

    I bought a used and already modded Wii and I'd like to install Priiloader for menu hacks, forwarding to GX usb loader and NAND backup.
    I've read some really good guides but they usually start from a fresh Wii.
    I've tried the Priiloader "holding reset" thing but got nothing, so I guess it's not installed.

    What I've gathered so far from the Wii is that it's:
    Menu 4.3E
    IOS58 v24.32
    HBC 1.1.2

    My HBC shows me these options:
    GX Usb Loader (working flawlessly)
    d2x cIOS Installer
    DOP-Mii


    Where do I go from here? I'd appreciate any help.
    Don't want to brick it :)
     
  2. migles

    migles Mei the sexiest bae

    Member
    6,899
    4,632
    Sep 19, 2013
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    my dad works for nintendo.
    just re-hack it all to update everything (cIOS) and automatically install priiloader on the process, you don't know if the previous owner had old cIOS or if it did a garbage


    format a sd card with this https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4/index.html
    sd card of 521MB-2GB is reccomended.

    then the program on this thread
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/modmii-for-windows-official-support-topic.207126/

    this program is a guide to hack the console, it will create all files and a tutorial on the sd card depending on the options you choose
    use the normal version (the blue DOS look alike one; NOT the skin version ) choose the first option inside modmii
    modmii will ask if its the first time modding it, choose yes

    if you have questions or need help with modmii give me a call
     
    lippan likes this.
  3. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    650
    136
    Aug 6, 2012
    Switzerland
    since you are already on 4.3E and HBC 1.1.2, I would say you are probably up to date.
    If you decide to re-softmode, you may skip the exploit and HBC installation or
    better yet, drag a syscheck log to Modmii and let it decide what you need to update.
     
    lippan likes this.
  4. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    Thx for quick replies.
    The guy told me everything was up to date.
    Checking the SD card I see these aswell.

    In "wad" folder:
    IOS36-64-v3351.wad
    USB Loader GX-UNEO_Forwarder_4_0_AHBPROT.wad
    USBLoader_GX_V2_3_UNLR_Channel_AHBPROT.wad

    All I really want is that USB Loader GX loads directly when you power on the Wii.
    I did make a ModMii test on a different SD card but is it really needed to re-softmode?
     
  5. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    650
    136
    Aug 6, 2012
    Switzerland
    The best way to tell if your system is up to date is post a syscheck log here. Check Cyan's signature for a tutorial on how to make a syscheck.

    your usbloadergx files are not latest, check https://code.google.com/p/usbloader-gui/

    To autoboot to usbloadergx, you will need to install priiloader 0.7/0.8 and latest usbloadergx
     
    lippan likes this.
  6. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    Here is the syscheck:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
    Last edited by lippan, Jun 20, 2015
  7. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    Is it as easy as putting Priiloader in apps on the sd card and install it?
    I'd love to make a NAND backup aswell.
    It's the whole thing with IOS's I don't really understand. I mean, I do somewhat.
    But changing IOS to install something, then change back. It just seems messy and an easy way to brick if you don't know what you're doing.
     
  8. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,555
    21,530
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    Yes, that's all you need to do. Make a NAND backup as fast as you possibly can with BootMii, you'll be able to easily boot into it once you have PriiLoader on-board.
     
    lippan likes this.
  9. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    Stupid question perhaps. But I do need to install BootMii aswell yes?
     
  10. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,555
    21,530
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    You have the Homebrew Channel, so you probably have BootMii IOS. If you don't, and I don't know why it wouldn't be there, you can easily install it with the HackMii installer.
     
    lippan likes this.
  11. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    650
    136
    Aug 6, 2012
    Switzerland
    yeah, put it in \apps and use HBC to run it.
    If you run into problem loading Wii games, consider to update cios 249 to d2x-v8(or 10) base [56] (not [37]) and cios 250 to d2x-v8(10) base [57].
    like I said before, drag the syscheck log to Modmii and it will recommend what to update.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    The previous owner probably softmod your Wii then update to 4.3E which removed bootmii. Reinstall it like Foxi4 told you.
     
    lippan likes this.
  12. jazzyzha

    jazzyzha Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Jun 21, 2015
    Malaysia
    Easy steps:
    1. Use Pimp My Wii and then do the check and auto fix. It will do the upgrades.
    2. Install priiloader, then enable beta updates.
    3. Install bootmii as boot2 or ios if you can't.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Installed HBC doesn't means its already have bootmii, its optional when you install it with hackmii installer
     
  13. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    12,088
    5,165
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    Never ever use Pimp My Wii. It's a great way to brick.
     
    Foxi4 likes this.
  14. jazzyzha

    jazzyzha Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Jun 21, 2015
    Malaysia
    Funny, but I successfully upgrades some of my used wii without problem
     
  15. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    650
    136
    Aug 6, 2012
    Switzerland
  16. jazzyzha

    jazzyzha Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    0
    Jun 21, 2015
    Malaysia
    thank you for referring me to that post.

    I dun have a hundred wii's but I have 3 used wii, and all of them are upgraded with PMW succesfully (even PMW upgraded my system menu)
    Perhaps I'm just lucky, or maybe the latest PMW are better.

    But before I use PMW, I always do backups.
    Please educate me, I'm just new. Thanks :)
     
  17. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip Reporter
    23,555
    21,530
    Sep 13, 2009
    Poland
    Gaming Grotto
    I know it's optional, but there's no reason not to install it and people do it 99% of the time, so chances are that it's there, and if it's not, read the rest of the post. Pimp My Wii is a great way to brick your system, if anything, use ModMii which is idiot proof.
     
  18. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    Just want to check if this seems right. I don't want to replace Menu 4.3 but I'm guessing this won't do that.
    Remember that it's already softmodded with HBC 1.1.2.

    This is what ModMii wants me to do:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    What worries me the most is this part:
    I assume I have to reinstall HBC along with BootMii to actually get BootMii?


    1. Note: if this Wii was previously modified, and it has either the HBC, BootMii as Boot2, or a Forwarder Channel installed, you can use that instead of an exploit.
      If using BootMii as Boot2 to install the HBC, turn on your Wii with the SD Card inserted and BootMii will load. Go To the SD menu and load bootmini.elf.

      1. This will load the Hackmii Installer allowing you to reinstall the HBC.

    And again, this is my sysCheck:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  19. migles

    migles Mei the sexiest bae

    Member
    6,899
    4,632
    Sep 19, 2013
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    my dad works for nintendo.
    do not worry about it.. but yeah, bootmii will be installed along with either the HBC or priiloader, i don't remember which one.
    but its fine, you can do it
     
    lippan likes this.
  20. lippan
    OP

    lippan Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 19, 2015
    A big thank you to everyone who helped me!
    Worked as a charm. Even got BootMii as Boot2. (yes, I did a NAND backup)