help with updating the new ver.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by pichagirl, Oct 17, 2010.

Oct 17, 2010
  1. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I tried so many times to update to the new 1.8 but i just don't understand what to do!
    and yes,Ive read every updating topic there is here.
    first i deleted the loader file and the ___aio folder and replaced it with the new one
    but all of the save files of the games i tried to open with the new ver' are not working now (even with the old ver)
    i also tried just adding the loaders folder and it didn't work.
    please explain me [​IMG] I'm going insane!
     


  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try backing up/reformatting/start afresh?
     
  3. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    how do i do that?
     
  4. Demonstryde

    Member Demonstryde GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United States
    save all the stuff on ytour card to your comp. reformat the card--go into my comp-right click on the micro sd that is in usb click reformat--- put everything back onto micro sd........ der sorry but der derr der
     
  5. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Reformat using FAT
     
  6. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    thihihi ^^"
    acually im usually good with does things its just that im going srsly mad with that update...

    anyway
    how will it help?
     
  7. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    It removes any problems that might be happening on your microSD (corrupt files, strange things, etc.)
     
  8. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    so how do i reformatting it?
     
  9. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
  10. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    EVERYONE IS WRONG.

    You deleted your settings (WRONG MOVE), so now it probably defaults to a different save type than your saves are in. Just change that value in the global settings and you should be good to go.
     
  11. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    im so confused T_T
    please explain more [​IMG]
     
  12. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    o.0...so somehow the new version of AKAIO doesn't have it's save list all of the sudden? I was under the impression that a clean AKAIO download was being used...in all cases, backing up and reformatting is one of the easiest and most understandable ways of making sure AKAIO works...
     
  13. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    You're supposed to delete the stuff. I did, and I just dragged the new stuff to it, and my saves and everything has been working just fine.

    @Picha: You don't have to use that Panasonic formatter.

    Just drag your games from your SD card, to your computer [aka backing it up]

    Then go to my computer, and whatever drive your SD is (G:), ([​IMG]) or whatever, right click, and click format. People say to use FAT32 or FAT16, but I've had my stuff on just using FAT, and haven't ran into a problem that everybody else is getting.
     
  14. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO has used the same save type settings since 1.5.0 I believe (I think it was 1.4.x and older that used .nds.sav).
    So unless they're updating from a considerably older version of AKAIO, there's no reason for them to have issues.
     
  15. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    guys,too many suggestions,what should i do now? [​IMG]
     
  16. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Just follow the original suggestion of backup/reformat since that is one of the more definite ways of getting AKAIO to work, because it is very rare that people have problems putting AKAIO on a fresh mSD, and just as well with a freshly reformatted mSD card.
     
  17. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Obviously you're going to get different suggestions as different things worked for different people. Start eliminating each suggestion by trying it.
     
  18. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    She could have previously changed the setting...

    All she needs to do to find out, is put the MicroSD card into a computer and see what the save extensions are.
     
  19. pichagirl
    OP

    Newcomer pichagirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    sounds reasonable.
    how can i cheak it?
     
  20. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Open the MicroSD card in Windows Explorer, right click on a save file, select properties. It will display the type of file which will either be ".sav" or "nds.sav". in AKAIO go into the settings and change the save extension so it's the same as the saves you have.
     

Share This Page