Help with PC Upgrade?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AceWarhead, Feb 7, 2012.

Feb 7, 2012

Help with PC Upgrade? by AceWarhead at 2:28 AM (444 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    So my computers really old and outdated. I need to upgrade some stuff.
    Here are my specs:
    [​IMG]
    Can you guys recommend anything? I want to be able to play games such as Skyrim, Tribes: Ascend, and TF2( at a better speed).
    Thanks. Looking to spend lees than $220.
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,782
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly if you want to play Skyrim and the like you'll probably want to build a whole new PC yourself. Keep your current case and HD, of course, but buy a new motherboard that supports DDR3 RAM, buy at atleast 4GB of RAM, buy a newer processor (at least Dual Core and 2.8ghz or higher) and a new graphics card (Geforce 200 series and up). You could probably do all of this for about...$300-$400 if you can find good deals around Newegg. I built myself a fairly decent gaming PC for a little less than $400, so this shouldn't be too hard. I'd also suggest buying at least a 600w+ PSU if yours isn't already above 400w.
     
  3. jarejare3

    Member jarejare3 PROFILE CHANGE!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Kuala lumpur?
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I did a search on google and apparently your motherboard Can only support 2 gb of ram.
    You can upgrade the processor to a better one, but i don't really know which one, athlon 64 x2 6400+
    ​

    EDIT: but yeah mostly it's your motherboard blocking you... you will need to get yourself some new gig that support ddr3 ram and a better processor, Get a good graphics card, etc.

    EDIT@: @supergamr232 @Pinkie232 Why do you always ninja'd me T_T, HOW YOU DO THAT EVERY SINGLE TIME!!!
     
  4. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    A penny spent on your rig is a penny not well spent.
    I have a system comparable as yours and my advice is to switch back to windows XP you will get a performance increase on TF2.
    You do what you want its your money but id say consoles are cheaper you can be playing skyrim for lees than 220$.
     
  5. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh god that hard drive.
    My anime folder would be taking up a sizeable chunk of that alone...

    Anyway, Pinkie pretty much covered everything useful to say.
     
  6. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    My dad and I built all of this from scratch back in 2006. It was pretty rad back then.
    Any recommendations for a good Motherboard?
     
  7. jarejare3

    Member jarejare3 PROFILE CHANGE!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Kuala lumpur?
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Any motherboard that support the latest Ram,Core and card will do.
     
  8. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,782
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    It really depends on the CPU you'll be getting. Pick out a CPU and then look for a motherboard. For CPU's, Intel i3, i5, or i7 would all be great for a CPU for the next few years. I personally have a dual core i3 running at around 3.1 ghz and it will run anything. The thing you should really be looking for is a newer GPU and better RAM.
     
  9. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone please bring up the AMD Fusion option. It's better for those with very limited budgets.
     

Share This Page