Help With Burning dual layer discs

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MasterHand300, Feb 19, 2009.

Feb 19, 2009
  1. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    Can Someone Tell Me If Mario kart Wii Is a dual layer disc and how do i burn dual layer discs and what discs do i need (e.g DVD-R Or DVD + R

    And Give Me A List Of All Dual And Single Layer disc games
     
  2. isaac52

    Member isaac52 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    While i have not gotten it to work yet(if ever!) my mario kart was about 2.38 GB, scrubbed.
    Thats easily a single layer disk, but i do believe a legit copy might be dual layer.
     
  3. althena77

    Newcomer althena77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I am not sure about Mario Kart, but I made a working DL backup of Smash Brothers Brawl. I used for that a Verbatim DVD+R DL.
    You must set the so called "Layer Break" for DL discs manually, I did that in ImgBurn in the settings somewhere.
     
  4. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    Can Anyone else Help
     
  5. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    mariokart is not a dual layer game, to burn a duallayer disc is the same way as burning a normal dvd, but as the person above pointed out SSBB needed a specific layer break which was 2084960
     
  6. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    I have to disagree - SSBB works fine with no manual layer break set.

    DVD+R DL generally has much better compatibility than DVD-R DL. I'd suggest using it if you ever do need to burn dual layer games.
     
  7. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks So If I Burn It Normally I Can Play It Normally


    So Can I

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. Hehe Moo

    Member Hehe Moo Moo?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you have an LG Drive?
     
  9. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    WTF is that
     
  10. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    Wrong!
    DVD+R are having less compatiblity when TAO/DAO is used, cause they involve more work from the laser/lens.
    When you have some scratch or little errors on your disc, the laser will need more resources to try to read from the disc which leads in the end in hurting your drive much more than if a DVD-R was used.

    They still work fine if you set the bookmark to DVD-R (why do you think that every tut is asking you to do so ?).

    However back to the topic:
    Mario Kart is SL, and playing fine for me on a ... Verbatim Azo DVD+R (my only dvd+r backup ^^).
    As far as i know,
    DL Games: SSBB
    SL Games: All the rest (easy, isn't it?)
     
  11. althena77

    Newcomer althena77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I have to disagree, I did burn Super Smash Brothers Brawl without setting the layer break in ImgBurn first and the disc didn't work and I wasted one of my Verbatim DVD+DL. After setting the layer break in the settings the disc did work.
    However you can create a file that you place in the same folder as the image which tells ImgBurn automatically where the layer break should be, so it is possible that people burn the game and it works fine without them ever knowing anything about the need of the layer break.
    Also of course there maybe are burning programs that don't need people to set the layer break, but not sure.
     
  12. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks Very Much For your help

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  13. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks Very Much For your help

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. MasterHand300
    OP

    Banned MasterHand300 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks Very Much For your help

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

Share This Page