Help! Up shitcreek right now

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gutterson, Dec 19, 2008.

Dec 19, 2008
  1. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm not even sure where what to begin...

    well, whats happening right now is everytime i start up the Wii, it goes to the health screen as always, but once i hit A, it goes to a black screen of death.

    To get around this, I've been starting it up in maintenance mode.

    I figure this has something to do with the IOS that i installed trying to play backups. So i went to uninstall the IOS...but alas, it says error when i try to do that, and I'm unable to uninstall IOS36.

    To make things worse, in desperation i 'upgraded' to 3.4 out of desperation, and i dont think that did me any favors either.


    what the hell should i do? : D
     


  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    What's the "maintenance mode"? Only uninstall IOS249 and don't touch the other IOS files.
     
  3. Sorox

    Member Sorox Master Firo Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    çİş
    Country:
    United States
    well:
    1: get the demodulator #900 and shove it into your toaster and put on highest setting. Then quickly remove and put into your GC slot.

    But seriously.
    You bricked yourself apparently so i have no idea what the fuck youre gonna do. The closest thing i ever had was a miniscule banner brick.
     
  4. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    maintenance mode is accessed by holding -and+ at the start up screen.

    I have uninstalled IOS249 and nothing works still.

    Posts merged

    oh, and for what it does, its essentially the samething as using the Wii, but no message board.
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Then you i guess you deleted the message board. What exactly did you delete?
     
  6. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    ok, what i did before it screwed up on me, was try to get pokemon battle revolution to wor.

    What i first did was download the 0.3g backuploader, and along with the CIOS.


    Since that did no work, i installed the .3b backuploader, and installed that's CIOS.

    after that, the game would be recognized by the wii, and show up on the disc channel. but when i went to load it, it would freeze after its wiimote use screen.

    so then i turned it off, and next time i went to use the wii, it wouldn't show the health/warning. Later, it would eventually show the health warning and thats when i went into maintenance mode.

    Its not that i deleted the message board, maintenance mode disables it.
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    My thought was wii freezes if message board is activated ==> message board has an error, could be missing

    Did you install channel versions of the loaders or did you start them from HBC?
    Backups shouldn't show up in the disc channel. If they do you found something new. (i guess you used the rebooter from gamma, but you didn't mention it)
     
  8. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    ya, i installed the channel loader of the .3g, not the other one though, i deleted it by system menu, not wad uninstaller.

    really? thats odd.

    Posts merged

    oh ya, used the rebooter.
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Maybe you have something left from the channel on your Wii, use WAD Manager next time to uninstall wads. I don't know how to find out what could belong to your deleted channel and/or if this is really the problem.

    Oh and just use .dols if try something.
     
  10. CIJC

    Member CIJC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wiipower... there isnt a message board in maintenence mode anyway lol
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I thought he can't access his system menu in the normal mode, but he can access it in maintenance mode. The difference is the message board ==> freeze in normal mode when the message board is missing

    Sorry, if i got that wrong, it's late here and i'm going to bed now.
     
  12. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    anyone got any advice?
     
  13. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    update: i went through my channels and realized pokemon ranch was corrupted. i deleted that, but once again, the health warning screen doesn't show up when starting the wii.
     
  14. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,480
    Country:
    United States
    just one thing after the other huh? well you could fomat your wii... (if you want to that is...)
     
  15. oneleggedjack

    Member oneleggedjack GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    format it if you wish, I did it when I had that problem.
    I still had the same issue after that, what fixed it for me was updating through a game
    Mario Kart to be exact, I don't know why but I went trigger happy on the AnyTitle Deleter

    good luck
     
  16. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    i tried formatting my wii last night, but it actually froze, it was doing it for 5 hours, and i assume thats not as long as it should take.
     
  17. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeh takes like 2 minutes.
    Backup homebrew channel to an sd card or something, then try downgrading to 3.2, see if getting it to reinstall files will help
     
  18. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    i tried to downgrade to 3.2, but it stayed at 3.4

    i did this with the regionchanger, is there a better way to do that?
     
  19. dnmn8r

    Member dnmn8r GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    try cIOS downgrader, worked great for me
     
  20. Gutterson
    OP

    Newcomer Gutterson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    i tried the downgrader but the system turned itself off before it could start.
     

Share This Page