[Help] Two questions

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Mages4ever, Mar 21, 2009.

Mar 21, 2009

[Help] Two questions by Mages4ever at 4:03 PM (858 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    First question.
    I bought my R4 last year in around August, and I've been reading around and I've heard mine is a clone. Is that true? If it is, what is the best flash cartridge system to buy. (I bought mine because it was the only one I knew about at the time). So, what should I buy?

    Second Question.
    When I try to play Pokemon Platinum on my R4, when I get to Floroma Twon, just before I enter, it crashes. So, I went on my PC to pass that part, good right? But I have the feeling that it will happen again and I'll be mad. Is there anything I can use for my R4 to fix it, like a homebrewed kernel, or do I have to buy a new flash cartridge. Also, it's not the rom, because I redownloaded it like 6 times and restarted each time, so it can't be the rom.

    Thanks~
     
  2. hacker07

    Banned hacker07 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    1tb harddrive
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can try playing the game with ysmenu wit DMA mode enabled.
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    To be sure you have a clone, this topic may help a little:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=106232

    But even if you have a real R4DS, I would suggest you buy another flashcard, like the CycloDS Evolution or the AceKard2.
    The CycloDS Evolution is well worth the extra money. It has a superb team behind it.

    A new flashcard will probably solve that Platinum problem, I don't know for sure though.
     
  4. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, I think I bought a real R4.
    The box reads.
    Revolution for DS
    (NDSL/NDS)

    So Approximatly how much does the CycloDS Evolution cost.

    Also, how do I get and use YSMENU.
     
  5. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
  6. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    That's extra?
    I got scammed for my R4 then...
    I payed like 60 dollars for it.
     
  7. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I bought my R4DS too about a year ago, and then it was also around 60 dollars.
    But now there are way more flashcards on the market, and that's why the prizes fell.
    You can buy flashcards for 10 dollars now, that's how cheap they are now.
    Well, if you don't have any problem paying 50 dollars for the CycloDS, do it and you'll never have these kinda problems again.
     
  8. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Chinese New Year money
     
  9. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
     
  10. Icey

    Member Icey GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    WADE BOGGS CARPET WORLD.
    Country:
    United States
    Cyclo DS user playing platinum here. No Problems. Got 5 Badges so far. [​IMG]
     
  11. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks.
    You guys respond fast.
    I'll look into the CycloDS and I might buy it.
    For now I'll back up my R4, and try YSMENU
     
  12. Zalda

    Member Zalda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    Denmark
    Nvm
     
  13. Mages4ever
    OP

    Member Mages4ever GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait, so YSMENU works?
    I can't seem to find the latest firmware download, mind linking me?
     

Share This Page