Help removing YSMenu

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by LunaEtoile, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. LunaEtoile
    OP

    LunaEtoile Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 20, 2011
    Canada
    Okay, so I'm not very knowledgeable with the R4 so please bare with me.
    I'm trying to remove YSMenu because from lurking on the foums I've learned that its not neccessary to have it when Wood is a better format.
    So this is where I need your help.
    I need to remove it.
    And I don't know which files to keep, and which to remove.
    I'll show you a screenshot of whats in my card.
    [​IMG]


    This is an Original R4.
    Not a clone/copy.

    Thank you SO much for any help you can provide.
    [:
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Member
    4,355
    505
    Mar 7, 2009
    United States
    Pantsuland
    Technically, you can delete all of it and just dump WoodR4 onto the microSD. If you want to keep Moonshell, just don't delete the moonshl folder or the _DS_MSHL.nds. If you want to keep your games, just don't delete your games folder, if you want to keep whatever misc stuff you have, don't delete your misc folder.
     
  3. LunaEtoile
    OP

    LunaEtoile Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 20, 2011
    Canada
    So I just extract wood into my R4?
    My games would work fine still?
    The saves will all load?
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Member
    4,355
    505
    Mar 7, 2009
    United States
    Pantsuland
    Supposing that there isn't a problem with your microSD (if you do encounter anything, it can probably be solved with a simple backup/reformat), it should work just like that.
     
  5. LunaEtoile
    OP

    LunaEtoile Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 20, 2011
    Canada
    Haha, my saves are all gone...
    Well this is a predicament.
    Might as well have YS Menu saved as it it, and have Wood as two seperate files on my laptop, and change it at whim.
    But my menu screen looks off, I don't know if its normal.

    [​IMG]
    So thats my start up...
    And when I move on to games, it'll continue to have the blue screen and lines in the background
    And I was testing out the regular features, there isn't a cheat file.
    [​IMG]
    Sorry that its sideways.



    EDIT: Don't comment on the stickers, I got my DS in 8th grade. Aha.
     
  6. Elvarg

    Elvarg Zyzz™

    Banned
    623
    0
    Jan 19, 2011
    >>>>>>
    i would just stick with ysmenu and use rgfs updates
     
  7. LunaEtoile
    OP

    LunaEtoile Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 20, 2011
    Canada
    And what are RGFS updates?
    'cause I want to be able to play games that work on Wood too.
     
  8. Elvarg

    Elvarg Zyzz™

    Banned
    623
    0
    Jan 19, 2011
    >>>>>>
  9. LunaEtoile
    OP

    LunaEtoile Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 20, 2011
    Canada
    You're my hero thank you!
    Much love.
     
  10. jurassicplayer

    jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Member
    4,355
    505
    Mar 7, 2009
    United States
    Pantsuland
    Your menu screen from the images suggest that there is either something wrong with the skin that is being used (whether the skin itself is bad or it's missing) or the globalsettings.ini are not set to a working/available skin. Just check the globalsettings.ini for a line that says something with "UI" and then check if there is a skin folder in the UI folder that matches the value in the globalsettings.ini.

    RetroGameFan (RGF) is the one who has been keeping ysmenu's infolib/savlib/extinfo.dat updated so that they can play the newer games. Both RetroGameFan and YWG are pretty fast at keeping up with the latest releases IMO so it doesn't matter a whole lot about using YSMenu or WoodR4 (WoodR4 does look better though).
     
  11. Elvarg

    Elvarg Zyzz™

    Banned
    623
    0
    Jan 19, 2011
    >>>>>>
     
  12. LunaEtoile
    OP

    LunaEtoile Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Jan 20, 2011
    Canada
    Haha, well this is easier for me to understand doing,
    And I'm getting tired now.
    So I'll try it out tomorrow.
    If it does work I'll let you know. [:
     
  13. Elvarg

    Elvarg Zyzz™

    Banned
    623
    0
    Jan 19, 2011
    >>>>>>
    Victory is mine!
     
  14. jurassicplayer

    jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Member
    4,355
    505
    Mar 7, 2009
    United States
    Pantsuland
    o.0...ok? It doesn't really matter how someone fixes the problem, nor who helps them fix it. The only real problem I have is that you used two posts to verify that it was your help that saved the day and that you gloated in a way that really doesn't help (you are missing a "c" in Victory).
     
  15. rikuumi

    rikuumi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    586
    1
    Oct 2, 2008
    United States
    WA
    Cool stickers "bro"?
     
  16. Stropdasje

    Stropdasje GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    157
    0
    Aug 25, 2009
    Netherlands
    Did you rename them or leave them as is? When you didn't rename them Wood doesn't see them. YSMenu uses .sav but Wood uses .nds.sav

    You can rename them by hand or use some of the batch programs some people made (sorry, I don't have a link, but I'm sure it is in one of the sticky messages about Wood on this forum). After renaming they should work.
     
  17. Elvarg

    Elvarg Zyzz™

    Banned
    623
    0
    Jan 19, 2011
    >>>>>>
    reformat after you delete ysmenu didnt you know?
     
  18. amaro

    amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    432
    248
    Apr 7, 2007
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    by what I see in the pictures, it seems to me that you are not using WoodR4 for the R4DS, I am correct?