Help removing YSMenu

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by LunaEtoile, Jan 20, 2011.

Jan 20, 2011

Help removing YSMenu by LunaEtoile at 5:30 AM (1,915 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. LunaEtoile
    OP

    Newcomer LunaEtoile Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so I'm not very knowledgeable with the R4 so please bare with me.
    I'm trying to remove YSMenu because from lurking on the foums I've learned that its not neccessary to have it when Wood is a better format.
    So this is where I need your help.
    I need to remove it.
    And I don't know which files to keep, and which to remove.
    I'll show you a screenshot of whats in my card.
    [​IMG]


    This is an Original R4.
    Not a clone/copy.

    Thank you SO much for any help you can provide.
    [:
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Technically, you can delete all of it and just dump WoodR4 onto the microSD. If you want to keep Moonshell, just don't delete the moonshl folder or the _DS_MSHL.nds. If you want to keep your games, just don't delete your games folder, if you want to keep whatever misc stuff you have, don't delete your misc folder.
     
  3. LunaEtoile
    OP

    Newcomer LunaEtoile Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    So I just extract wood into my R4?
    My games would work fine still?
    The saves will all load?
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Supposing that there isn't a problem with your microSD (if you do encounter anything, it can probably be solved with a simple backup/reformat), it should work just like that.
     
  5. LunaEtoile
    OP

    Newcomer LunaEtoile Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, my saves are all gone...
    Well this is a predicament.
    Might as well have YS Menu saved as it it, and have Wood as two seperate files on my laptop, and change it at whim.
    But my menu screen looks off, I don't know if its normal.

    [​IMG]
    So thats my start up...
    And when I move on to games, it'll continue to have the blue screen and lines in the background
    And I was testing out the regular features, there isn't a cheat file.
    [​IMG]
    Sorry that its sideways.



    EDIT: Don't comment on the stickers, I got my DS in 8th grade. Aha.
     
  6. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
    i would just stick with ysmenu and use rgfs updates
     
  7. LunaEtoile
    OP

    Newcomer LunaEtoile Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    And what are RGFS updates?
    'cause I want to be able to play games that work on Wood too.
     
  8. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
  9. LunaEtoile
    OP

    Newcomer LunaEtoile Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    You're my hero thank you!
    Much love.
     
  10. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Your menu screen from the images suggest that there is either something wrong with the skin that is being used (whether the skin itself is bad or it's missing) or the globalsettings.ini are not set to a working/available skin. Just check the globalsettings.ini for a line that says something with "UI" and then check if there is a skin folder in the UI folder that matches the value in the globalsettings.ini.

    RetroGameFan (RGF) is the one who has been keeping ysmenu's infolib/savlib/extinfo.dat updated so that they can play the newer games. Both RetroGameFan and YWG are pretty fast at keeping up with the latest releases IMO so it doesn't matter a whole lot about using YSMenu or WoodR4 (WoodR4 does look better though).
     
  11. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
     
  12. LunaEtoile
    OP

    Newcomer LunaEtoile Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    Haha, well this is easier for me to understand doing,
    And I'm getting tired now.
    So I'll try it out tomorrow.
    If it does work I'll let you know. [:
     
  13. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
    Victory is mine!
     
  14. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    o.0...ok? It doesn't really matter how someone fixes the problem, nor who helps them fix it. The only real problem I have is that you used two posts to verify that it was your help that saved the day and that you gloated in a way that really doesn't help (you are missing a "c" in Victory).
     
  15. rikuumi

    Member rikuumi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Cool stickers "bro"?
     
  16. Stropdasje

    Member Stropdasje GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Did you rename them or leave them as is? When you didn't rename them Wood doesn't see them. YSMenu uses .sav but Wood uses .nds.sav

    You can rename them by hand or use some of the batch programs some people made (sorry, I don't have a link, but I'm sure it is in one of the sticky messages about Wood on this forum). After renaming they should work.
     
  17. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
    reformat after you delete ysmenu didnt you know?
     
  18. amaro

    Member amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    Country:
    Portugal
    by what I see in the pictures, it seems to me that you are not using WoodR4 for the R4DS, I am correct?
     

Share This Page