Hacking Help, please. A simple ReiNand question.

CrimsonKing1538

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
79
Country
United States
Hey guys, so it's been a while since I've messed with any of this stuff. Could someone just remind me how to backup as well as restore my NAND? I'm on ReiNand with a9lh.

Thanks in advance,
Jack
 

JCCG1989

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
444
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
358
Country
Mexico
Press start at the same time you power on you 3DS, the backup menu will appear, search for Decrypt9 and select the option you need (Restore or backup NAND)
 

CrimsonKing1538

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
79
Country
United States
I can't seem to boot into it. Select boots me in ReiNand config, RB attempts to boot me into emuNand(which doesn't work because I don't use one), LB attempts to do some funny business with ReiNand and firmware, and the d-pad and face buttons don't do anything. Holding start just gives me a normal boot. Thoughts?
 

CrimsonKing1538

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
79
Country
United States
Strange, are your arm9lh and luma full actualized?
Well, I run ReiNand instead of Luma, but I would assume so. This isn't a fresh install, I've been running on CFW for months now.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I've backed up my SysNand before, I just do t remember how....
 

JCCG1989

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
444
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
358
Country
Mexico
Well, I run ReiNand instead of Luma, but I would assume so. This isn't a fresh install, I've been running on CFW for months now.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I've backed up my SysNand before, I just do t remember how....
Luma is the same than Reinand, so dont worry. Lemme check a pair of things.
 

CrimsonKing1538

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
79
Country
United States
So I'm a genius. I loaded my SD card into my PC, and I deleted decrypt9 when I was cleaning up my SD for space *facepalm*. I have all the decrypt9 files on my PC, just need to reinstall.
 

mashers

Stubborn ape
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
4,953
Country
If you don't want to mess with changing any settings or changing your ReiNAND, you can just do this:
  • Download the decrypt9 archive
  • Rename arm9loaderhax.bin on your SD card to arm9loaderhaxold.bin
  • Copy arm9loaderhax.bin from the decrypt9 archive to your SD card
  • Boot your 3ds and you'll go straight to decrypt9
  • Do what you need to do in decrypt9
  • Power off, rename arm9loaderhax.bin to decrypt9.bin, and arm9loaderhaxold.bin to arm9loaderhax.bin

As others have said though, changing to Luma will allow you to have a boot menu when you start up so you can quickly boot to other a9lh payloads like decrypt9 by holding down keys on boot. But the above might be quicker and easier if you just want to run decrypt9 as a one-off.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Oh I was too slow :P
 

JCCG1989

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
444
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
358
Country
Mexico
So I'm a genius. I loaded my SD card into my PC, and I deleted decrypt9 when I was cleaning up my SD for space *facepalm*. I have all the decrypt9 files on my PC, just need to reinstall.
Hahahaha, that explains a lot dude, good thing you realized. Don't touch files unless you know exactly your SD structure.
 

CrimsonKing1538

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
79
Country
United States
Hahahaha, that explains a lot dude, good thing you realized. Don't touch files unless you know exactly your SD structure.
What it was is that I had already made a SysNand backup, and I was like,"oh, well I won't need to do that again!"

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Decrypt9 reinstalled and bound to L+R. Thanks for all the help guys. (Making a notepad of my key bindings so I don't forget and look like a dumbass. :'( )
 

JCCG1989

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
444
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
358
Country
Mexico
What it was is that I had already made a SysNand backup, and I was like,"oh, well I won't need to do that again!"

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Decrypt9 reinstalled and bound to L+R. Thanks for all the help guys. (Making a notepad of my key bindings so I don't forget and look like a dumbass. :'( )
Nhe, everything is okay buddy.
 

mashers

Stubborn ape
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2015
Messages
3,837
Trophies
0
Age
39
Location
Kongo Jungle
XP
4,953
Country
May switch to Luma just for that.
If you do, you can look here for some nice splash screens:

https://splash.3dsthem.es

Some are just images, but others have button layouts on them to show what button to hold for which payload. You just have to name the payload files correctly to get them bound to the correct key. I believe the Luma installation instructions cover it in more detail :)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Probably build a mech suit in every episode