Help needed

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by joggy148, Nov 13, 2010.

Nov 13, 2010

Help needed by joggy148 at 11:33 AM (1,243 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Help Please...

    After using R4 cards for a few years i brought an acekard and loved it.... unforunately my son managed to loose it at school and at the moment with xmas coming up couldn't afford to replace it with another acekard straight away and as I had not had any problems with my r4 cards in the past thought I would just by the r4i sdhc card.

    It comes packaged from R4i-sdhc.com vers 1.4.1 and I have just installed there latest frimware which states its compatible with all cards with vers 1.4.1 on it.

    I am not quite sure what I am doing wrong but when I try using the card it loads the menu but none of the games will load ...including games that I know work as they have been used before ... I either get various error messages or more often than not game just does not load and it freezes.

    Any ideas?

    Could it be the sd card rather than the flash cart?
     
  2. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    sorry forgot to mention I use a dsi xl
     
  3. Sephxus

    Member Sephxus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Location:
    Pomona, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Try reformatting the micro sd card with the Panasonic formatter. LINK

    Also, make sure you are using the latest firmware.

    ps - R4 clones usually have poor support, so do not expect every game to work.

    Edit: Forgot to mention back up (copy to your computer) all games and saves formatting it will erase everything from your micro sd.
     
  4. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    I have an r4i-sdhc.com R4-SDHC [​IMG]
    Get the newest firmware.
     
  5. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks folks ...I have downloaded kernel 1.27b which I think is the latest software .... but still no joy.... but I think I have worked out what the problem is ....the micro sd that came with it is only a normal sd not a hc sd ..... will this ne the problem.... can't believe I never noticed when I got it 2 days ago.Have ordered a new card in case lol.

    Also when I turn the ds on the cart is recognised as alex rider ...is this correct?
     
  6. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    i've never had an issue of using 1gb or 2gb microsd non HC on any flashcart
    i've only had issue of using a 512 MB microsd on the iPlayer which I thought would work, but 1gb and larger worked fine

    you should've bought a new acekard, not a new microsd imo >.>
     
  7. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for that...i'll keep trying .... I will be buying a new acekard for myself but for when my son takes it to school and loses it ...its just not worth it for him.... never had a problem with the normal r4's before now and this is just weird.

    thanks again for help
     
  8. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    You bought all that, and you say you don't have $15.00 for an Acekard off of shoptemp?
    You should definitely get an Acekard to prevent future headaches.

    But does the card work in other systems? If so, it could be contact issues. Have you tried the paper trick? Because if you're on DSi XL 1.4.1U, and it gets to the menu, that means it's okay, but for some reason nothing is showing up.
     
  9. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I managed to get a very good deal on cards lol brought both for less than £10.... Acekards in uk can cost £20 [​IMG] .
    UPDATED to the latest firmware that was released yesterday afternoon and seem to be having more luck but still have a few games that work on normal r4 that wont load on this one !!
     
  10. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    That's because R4i SDHC sucks. It's probably the worst of the R4i cards..
     
  11. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    beginning to see that now lol but hey for a 7 yr old that keeps loosing things [​IMG]
     
  12. pichon64

    Member pichon64 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Carrying a videogame handheld console to SCHOOL? Why not just books and notebooks? Education is going downwards these days.
     
  13. joggy148
    OP

    Newcomer joggy148 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    My son goes to a school that has a school day that runs from 8am-1.30pm and then they run after school clubs from then until 3.30pm.... these clubs include...football, tag rugby, tennis, basketball, chess computers, and a wii and ds club .... to name a few of the 20 odd clubs run every day!! the consoles are not allowed to be used during normal school day but at club time its time for them to relax and have fun lol.
     
  14. mechagouki

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Helpful comment there SS, thanks. The R4i-SDHC is actually sold at Shoptemp, has a 5-star rating there and is one of only 3 clones they sell, your trolling doesn't sit well with your decision to advertise Shoptemp in your sig. The OP bought the card he can afford and is politely asking for help.


    @ OP: I have the same card (and use it in both an XL and an original DS) and have no issues with any game other than Super Scribblenauts. I suspect you have a bad microSD, as mentioned above you can try a format, but if you have another card - in your cellphone for instance - try using that and see if it fixes your problems. Latest firmware from the manufacturers site is 1.28b, find it here: LINK
     
  15. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Come again? Trolling would be something like
    "lol r4 sucks, lololol, dont be stupid, get good card lololol u fag"

    And by newer games, I assume he meant games like Super Scribblenauts, which you even said so yourself, doesn't work [if you did, oh well, too lazy to go check your thread].

    I have a hatred for all things R4... unless it's the original that runs Wood. I got screwed over by R4's in the past. But if it is the newer games that aren't working like Super Scribblenauts, it'd be wise to get a card that has better compatibility.

    Also, there's no reason why I can't put those two things in my signature. If you're a mod or something, feel free to remove them, because last I checked, they're allowed.
     
  16. mechagouki

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    So why waste your time reading and posting in threads clearly related to clones?
     

Share This Page