Homebrew Help my Wii got bricked!

TheSockNaster

Kawaii
OP
Banned
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
269
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
204
Country
United States
I got a Wii 5-6 years ago and heard about Homebrew about 4 years later and soft modded my Wii console. I downgraded my Wii and when I went back to the homescreen it was black. You might think this is a easy fix, but here is the problem. I do not have bootmii, preloader, boot1/boot2, or priiloader. PLEASE HELP!!! (btw I think it is a banner brick, but I can't be to sure.)
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,406
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,062
Country
Norway
Do you have a NAND backup or a dump of your keys from xyzzy?
If not, I'm afraid you're out of luck.
Installing Priiloader or better yet BootMii is always one of the first things you should do.
 

TheSockNaster

Kawaii
OP
Banned
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
269
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
204
Country
United States
Do you have a NAND backup or a dump of your keys from xyzzy?
If not, I'm afraid you're out of luck.
Installing Priiloader or better yet BootMii is always one of the first things you should do.

I am not too advanced, but is it possible I could do a NAND backup from my vwii and it could work on my wii?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,406
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,062
Country
Norway
I am not too advanced, but is it possible I could do a NAND backup from my vwii and it could work on my wii?
and even if I did a backup what would I do from there?
No, the NAND backup is encrypted for that specific Wii, not to mention vWii IOS wouldn't work on Wii. The reason I asked is that if you had a NAND backup it would include a dump of the keys, which you could use to generate a new NAND, and then get someone to hardware flash the new NAND for you.
It might be possible to dump the keys from the NAND with a hardware flasher, I have not heard of anyone that has done it though.

By the way, use the edit button instead of double posting :)


Edit: Black screen is not a banner brick. It could be a defective bluetooth module (or other failed hardware), strange it would happen at that exact moment but it could happen anytime I guess.

http://savemii.net/troubleshooting.html
Looks like you can install BootMii with a NAND flasher if you have a vulnerable boot1, so there might be a way to unbrick your Wii with some work. How old is your Wii? If it's one of the earlier models it's almost certainly possible to install BootMii on it, and use that as an entry way to unbrick it, that is if it's not a hardware fault. If it's a hardware issue, you first have to isolate which piece of hardware and then replace that part. Replacement parts for Wii can be gotten pretty cheaply.

Not sure who you can contact to install a NAND flasher in your Wii and help you with unbricking. DeadlyFoez used to do it, but I haven't seen him around in a while.
 

TheSockNaster

Kawaii
OP
Banned
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
269
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
204
Country
United States
No, the NAND backup is encrypted for that specific Wii, not to mention vWii IOS wouldn't work on Wii. The reason I asked is that if you had a NAND backup it would include a dump of the keys, which you could use to generate a new NAND, and then get someone to hardware flash the new NAND for you.
It might be possible to dump the keys from the NAND with a hardware flasher, I have not heard of anyone that has done it though.

By the way, use the edit button instead of double posting :)


Edit: Black screen is not a banner brick. It could be a defective bluetooth module (or other failed hardware), strange it would happen at that exact moment but it could happen anytime I guess.

http://savemii.net/troubleshooting.html
Looks like you can install BootMii with a NAND flasher if you have a vulnerable boot1, so there might be a way to unbrick your Wii with some work. How old is your Wii? If it's one of the earlier models it's almost certainly possible to install BootMii on it, and use that as an entry way to unbrick it, that is if it's not a hardware fault. If it's a hardware issue, you first have to isolate which piece of hardware and then replace that part. Replacement parts for Wii can be gotten pretty cheaply.

Not sure who you can contact to install a NAND flasher in your Wii and help you with unbricking. DeadlyFoez used to do it, but I haven't seen him around in a while.

My Wii is 5-6 years old and it is the 1st gen. white Wii. (and it is version 4.2, but since I downgraded to 3.2 and that's how I bricked it I am not sure if it is 4.2 or 3.2.)
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
31
XP
4,698
Country
United States
My Wii is 5-6 years old and it is the 1st gen. white Wii. (and it is version 4.2, but since I downgraded to 3.2 and that's how I bricked it I am not sure if it is 4.2 or 3.2.)

Not trying to be a dick but you did not need to downgrade at all for any kind of homebrew or mods
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,406
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,062
Country
Norway
My Wii is 5-6 years old and it is the 1st gen. white Wii. (and it is version 4.2, but since I downgraded to 3.2 and that's how I bricked it I am not sure if it is 4.2 or 3.2.)
Should be possible to install BootMii with a hardware flasher then.
What process did you use to downgrade? It sounds like maybe you downgraded but forgot to remove the stubbed system menu IOS.
 

TheSockNaster

Kawaii
OP
Banned
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
269
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
204
Country
United States
Should be possible to install BootMii with a hardware flasher then.
What process did you use to downgrade? It sounds like maybe you downgraded but forgot to remove the stubbed system menu IOS.

I used DOP-Mii - Wiibrew Edition and I think I installed IOS 222 as a stub, but did not remove it. So would SaveMii work for me because I was trying to buy it, but I cannot find it anywhere. Please send me a link to buy it. (If you can)
 

Krafter

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
272
Country
United States
What's the serial number on your Wii? That will tell if it has a vulnerable boot1.

I've done many, many fixes such as this but as stated, the proper hardware is needed. One huge problem that I've ran into with older Wiis is the first few blocks of the NAND (where boot2 resides) have bad blocks and can't be written to therefore the fix fails. The only way that I've found to get around that is to replace the NAND chip itself which are hard to find.
 

TheSockNaster

Kawaii
OP
Banned
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
269
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
204
Country
United States
What's the serial number on your Wii? That will tell if it has a vulnerable boot1.

I've done many, many fixes such as this but as stated, the proper hardware is needed. One huge problem that I've ran into with older Wiis is the first few blocks of the NAND (where boot2 resides) have bad blocks and can't be written to therefore the fix fails. The only way that I've found to get around that is to replace the NAND chip itself which are hard to find.

IDK
 

Krafter

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
272
Country
United States
The serial number? Should be written on the side. Actually, all you need is the region code and the first four digits after that.
 

Krafter

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
272
Country
United States
The LU in the serial is what is was taking about. Bad news is, that is too new to be fixed without a NAND dump from that particular Wii. :(
 

Krafter

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
272
Country
United States
Let me ask this though. You say it has a black screen. Watch your TV as you turn it on. Does it blink or change color slightly or is it solid black with no change?
 

Krafter

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
272
Country
United States
So your TV doesn't display anything like "No Signal" or similar before turning on the Wii and then goes away after?

I asked this because the way you described the brick, sounds as if you downgraded the System Menu without downgrading the System IOS which would cause a low level brick. If it did change when turning it on then that's would of been a sign the the System Menu and the System IOS match and there might have been hope.

If there was a change then the system would be attempting to boot and might have been fixable.
 

TheSockNaster

Kawaii
OP
Banned
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
269
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
204
Country
United States
So your TV doesn't display anything like "No Signal" or similar before turning on the Wii and then goes away after?

I asked this because the way you described the brick, sounds as if you downgraded the System Menu without downgrading the System IOS which would cause a low level brick. If it did change when turning it on then that's would of been a sign the the System Menu and the System IOS match and there might have been hope.

If there was a change then the system would be attempting to boot and might have been fixable.

You are right I did downgrade and forgot to downgrade the ios, but my tv can still detect the Wii.
 

Krafter

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
53
Trophies
0
Location
US
XP
272
Country
United States
What do you mean by your TV is detecting it? Does your TV change when you turn it on? If you failed to downgrade your IOS then there won't be any video output to your TV when you turn it on therefore your TV won't detect it. If it is outputing something then there's hope but only with a modchip.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @The Real Jdbye, lol