Help. I've bricked my wiimote . .

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by 1ronlung, Jul 31, 2011.

Jul 31, 2011
  1. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Here's something i've never come across. . Was fiddleing with ios 38. Yes. I know i was a fool and deserve some kind of retribution for my stupidity but i'm hoping i can dodge a bullet. When i turn on the wii now i get the press a to continue screen but when i press a button on the wiimote four lights flash blue but it doesn.t connect to the wii. If i leave the wii for a couple of mins it automatically goes to the normal system menu. I've tried repairing the two remotes i've got to the wii. No luck. Have plugged in third party gc controller. No dice. Have nand backup but bootmii loaded as an ios so no good. System menu 4.1e. I do have a modchip installed. No preloader etc. I'm out of ideas. Help
     
  2. RoyalCardMan

    Member RoyalCardMan DS App Studio™ Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    In the middle of gun fire.
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, did he brick two remotes, or just one?

    So, if you tried the GC remotes and they still didn't work, this probably partially bricked some part of the Wii.

    Someone else could probably help, but that is the only thing I can provide.
     
  3. Hozu

    Member Hozu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    Canada
    This may sound obvious but you didn't say you did this so I'm going to ask anyways: Did you sync your Wiimotes again? I forget how but it's in the instruction manual somewhere.
     
  4. Bumper

    Newcomer Bumper Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why were you fiddling and what were you trying to do.
     
  5. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Perfectly reasonable question. Yes i did try to re synch
     
  6. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Was trying to get an usb loader back working. I think i may have installed two different versions of 38. Dunno if that.s a potential issue ?
     
  7. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Ios38 is not used by the sysmenu.
    Unless you messed with ios60 too, the issue lies somewhere else most likely.
    My guess would be hardware. What did you do to "repair" the wiimotes?

    Crosstest against known good to see wether its wii or motes.
    (your motes to good wii + good motes to your wii)
     
  8. Spongeroberto

    Member Spongeroberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Bhutan
    did you try clearing the bluetooth table on your machine before trying the resync?
     
  9. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry that was a bad turn of phrase on my behalf. When i said repair i meant resynch. Am convinced hardware is fine and the cock up lies with ios . I can't do anything with ios without wiimote functionality
     
  10. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    No. Do you know how to offhand ?
     
  11. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    If you do now want to crosstest it that's your choice.
    Imho its the first thing that one should do with every single problem involving multiple possible sources.
    But you excuse is just stupid.
     
  12. Spongeroberto

    Member Spongeroberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Bhutan
    Though the gamecube controller issue may mean there is more going on here than just a sync issue. Still, worth a shot.
     
  13. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't aware that i'd made an excuse ? I'm not going to cross test my remotes as i find it hard to accept that two remotes would fail at exactly the same time. It seems far too much of a coincidence that i was messing with fairly low level software in the wii at the time the problem occured . . .
     
  14. 1ronlung
    OP

    Member 1ronlung GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    You're an absolute diamond. Problem sorted ! In my years owning the wii never had to do that procedure [​IMG]
     
  15. Spongeroberto

    Member Spongeroberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Bhutan
    Awesome! Glad to be of service!
     

Share This Page