HELP! I might have a brick?!?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Gamesphere, Oct 16, 2009.

Oct 16, 2009
  1. Gamesphere
    OP

    Member Gamesphere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    United States
    Man Oh Man, I need help. I was updating my sisters wii which was at 3.2. The 1st thing I used was Wakikeno's cIOS36 rev8 and installed IOS 249. 2nd I used the IOS60 Patcher. I dnt know if it means anything bt I wasnt paying attention and I installed IOS 61 & 60. Bt I did nt install the latest Shop Channel. The last thing I used was Wakikono's Firmware Updater 4.1.

    When it finished installing and rebooted, I gt a black screen!!!!! Now when I turn on the Wii thats all I get!!! Can sum1 help me fix it???
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you installed a stubb IOS60 and that's why your wii wont boot cause system menu 4.1 runs on IOS60

    if you don't have bootmii as boot2 then your sisters Wii is an expensive paper weight
     
  3. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States

    Full Brick. You used IOS60 patcher tool which is a Brick Utility since 4.2 came out.

    That tool will download the latest version of IOS60. Since 4.2 came out the latest version is IOS60v6400 which is a STUB.

    So the System Menu can't load with a stub... = BRICK.. Hard brick...

    Only way to recover is if you have Bootmii/boot2

    If you don't have Bootmii/boot2 then you are bricked beyond repair.
     
  4. Gamesphere
    OP

    Member Gamesphere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    United States
    Fu*k My Life. Thanks for the help guys. [​IMG]
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    automatic updaters strike again.

    how many bricks so far Lothlorian?
     
  6. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    United States
    Yep its a killer, I wonder how hard it would have been to make it download a version Specific IOS, seem like the coder would have thought this would've happen later or sooner
     
  7. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States

    Enough to build a house. All we would need is some mortar.


    It is always a good idea to check the forums for the latest guides before attempting to hack. A method that worked perfectly 1 year (in this case 2 weeks [​IMG] ) ago can brick today.
     
  8. bosman

    Member bosman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Australia
    how do you stop people using this tool if the tool is going out there and downloading the stub ios60?
     
  9. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    That is the problem. You can't.


    I had that very same utility on my SD card 2 weeks ago. My HBC was rather cluttered with old apps and stuff. Since the New HBC came out with the delete option I have been busy cleaning it up. I quickly removed that app [​IMG]
     
  10. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    same here IOS60 patcher, 4.0updater and 4.1 updater went straight in the bin as soon as i read about the brick risk's of using them
     
  11. bosman

    Member bosman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Australia
    that's kinda scary like your avatar

    A quick google and its a common problem, IOS60 patcher = brick.
     

Share This Page