Help get my R4 working on my 3DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ieatpixels, Mar 31, 2011.

Mar 31, 2011
  1. ieatpixels
    OP

    Member ieatpixels GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys, sorry I'm new to using flash carts, I've just gotten my 3DS and an R4, but I can't seem to get them working together.
    It's the R4i from r4idsn.com, I ordered it a while ago when I heard it works with the 3DS. (There was a link from the news post, forgot which site.)
    It came in a blue box.

    I just need help with what files to put on the micro sd card.

    I've tried the "4- V1.51 English" kernel just then, used the formatter before I placed all the files in the root of the card.
    I got the black screen error on my 3DS, and I tried the cart with my brother's ds lite and the menu came up (worked), the game still showed up as "storm breaker" rather than "r4" on both DS's system menus.

    I've helped set up the files for an R4 before, but I'd still say I'm pretty new to all this.
     
  2. ieatpixels
    OP

    Member ieatpixels GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Australia
    Ah man, no responses? I thought I'd get some.

    bumping..

    Edit: alright, sorry, I'm just eager to get my new device going.
     
  3. gtmtnbiker

    Member gtmtnbiker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    Yo, this is not a chat room. We're not all waiting around twiddling our thumbs, ready to jump on a new thread to help someone. Give a few days before you bump your topic again. [​IMG]
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    They don't seem to have the update out. It seems they just want you to buy a new cart with the 3DS update applied.

    Typical R4-clone tactic.
     
  5. GuitarPick

    Newcomer GuitarPick Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    its a scam

    i know it because i have one too (ordered recently as well when i heard that it works with 3ds)

    wood r4 for r4idsn or official 1.51, both give me an error has occured, please power off message

    just my luck.
     
  6. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,831
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have a solution for your problem.
    Buy a better flashcard, like an Acekard 2i or a Supercard Two
     
  7. ieatpixels
    OP

    Member ieatpixels GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Australia
    Man that really sucks, it took me months to get the thing in the mail.

    Well thanks for the advice guys, I've ordered catboy's acekard 2i.
     
  8. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't worry too much. I think ezbuy are a bit faster than that.
    Sorry about your wasted money. Maybe you could give it to your brother?
     
  9. Gameplayer9198

    Member Gameplayer9198 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    USA, Kentucky
    Country:
    United States
    That SUCKS i just got my R4i Gold (r4ids.cn) in the mail a while ago from Zhuzhuchina http://www.zhuzhuchina.com/store/product_d...item_id=2312763 I was planning on getting a 3DS but now i don't have the money i tested it in a friends DSL and got the Storm Breaker game also now i have to buy a new one Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! looks like i have to sell it for about $15.00 to buy an acekard 2i how would you go about flashing it is it the flash with older console to work with the new one [​IMG]
     
  10. however

    Banned however Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I think you are get a fake R4 card, I have a r4i gold card for 3DS, but it is from r4ids.cn, and i get from here.
     
  11. amansg

    Newcomer amansg Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I know this is late but if you wnat your r4 to work on your 3ds, you have to get a narmal ds and put the 3ds r4 in it, go to configure and press update then go to your 3ds and it will work


    Or since you ordered the blue box that may mean you ordered the r4 3ds card
    not the r4i 3ds sdhc card that comes in a red box

    if this is right you are using the wrong kernal
     
  12. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    ieatpixels, you should go to www.r4idsn.com and download WOOD R4 V1.48 for r4idsn.Unzip it to the root directory of your tf card. That's all.You need a kernel to make it work.
     
  13. tranfeer

    Member tranfeer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    772
    Country:
    Austria
    There are V1.44 patch for r4idsn 3ds and V1.44 patch for r4idsn non-3ds cards, which can be downloaded from www.r4idsn.com.
    Please have a look.
    Besides, the kernel is WOOD R4, which is updated once a month.
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That post is from over a year ago, when the update didn't exist.
     
  15. linuxdude2

    Newcomer linuxdude2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    R4 cards don't work on DSi, DSi XL, or 3DS systems
     
  16. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
  17. linuxdude2

    Newcomer linuxdude2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Buy an Acekard 2i
     

Share This Page