Hacking Help: black screen after messing up with system and ios

gabo2503

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
30
Country
Chile
Hi everyone, I'm from Chile, I'll do my best to explain my case with all details.

I've read a dozen of threads about my case, but still none worked for me.

I bought a japanese Wii, because was really cheap in order to enjoy again of Guitar Hero after more than 1o years.

The problem was my stupidity, because I was focused on changing the system language to English or Spanish. After watching lots of YT videos, I decided (wrongly) to change through wad manager, the ios and system menu file. I used the Nusdownloader to make these wad files. In my mind, it was Ok just installing these files: for the system, I made the wad for 4.3U and the IOS IOS60-64-v6174. After installing those files, I reset the Wii and eveything went downhill. I have the horrible black screen. I can turn on the Wii using the wiimote, I can see the blue led flashing in the console, but the screen is totally black. I must say, this Wii already had HB, USBloader, Priloader, bootmii. Everything was OK, I just wanted to change the language.

Now, I've tried to turn on the console and holding the reset button, and nothing happens (before all this nightmare, I was able to do this method and the bootmii menu popped up holding the reset button. Not anymore after I installed these files.

I would like to ask for help, if anyone wants at least 20 buck for a couple of bears (paypal), and wants to help me, I'd be happy to receive your help!

Thanks a lot,

Gabriel.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,979
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,110
Country
Cyprus
When u installed a new system menu, you removed priiloader

If the console is lucky enough to have bootmii installed as boot2, it will load when the wii turns on so long as an SD card is inserted with this bootmii folder saved to it

http://static.hackmii.com/bootmii_sd_files.zip

So it should look like SD:/bootmii/
(with an armboot.bin and ppcboot.elf saved inside it)

Try this, if you see the bootmii menu then we can easily recover. Otherwise it doesn't look good. Try it and report back.

Oh and in the future, just use ModMii, it will help you to avoid these kinds of screw ups.

Good luck! I hope to hear good news back from u so we can fix this wii together!
 

gabo2503

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
30
Country
Chile
Hi, XFlak! Thanks, for your reply.

These are the files I have on my bootmii folder (because I'm a new user, it dind't let me post links of the prt screen):

-armboot.bin
-bootmii.ini
-ppcboot.elf

And outside, I have:

-apps (folder)
-bootmii (folder)
-wad (folder)
-boot.dol
-hacks.ini
-installer.log
-mmmconfig.txt
-startup.elf
-usbloader-gx-dol

Is there a way (on this situation where I'm totally "blind" with the black screen) I can know if I have bootmii as boot2, ir order to let you know?

Thanks!
 

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
618
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,305
Country
Germany
try this :

put priiloader on your sd card AGAIN (its not on your card). when you start the wii console, than hold the ''reset'' button and it should start the priiloader menu. XFlak mention it to.
I think it is delete on the sd card. I am not sure. And I do not want your money, put into a new console.

I had read very often, when user try to install wad files and wiiflow that the wii can go dead. I am not sure, I am boot all from homebrew channel and no problems with language settings (german). Has the Japan version a spanish language setting ? I only know PAL country it has english, spanish, french, german, italy.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,979
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,110
Country
Cyprus
Priiloader is either installed or not, having an SD card makes no difference. To access priiloader you would hold reset while powering on the WIi. I think the OP said he tried this already, but since he reinstalled a new System menu, he would have lost priiloader in the process.

Bootmii installed to boot2 on the other hand will only load if a properly configured SD card with the appropriate Bootmii folder is detected when the Wii is powering up
 
Last edited by XFlak,

gabo2503

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
30
Country
Chile
Priiloader is either installed or not, having an SD card makes no difference. To access priiloader you would hold resent while powering on the WIi. I think the OP said he tried this already, but since he reinstalled a new System menu, he would have lost priiloader in the process.

Bootmii installed to boot2 on the other hand will only load if a properly configured SD card with the appropriate Bootmii folder is detected when the Wii is powering up
Yes, no doubt at all: I install an IOS and a new systen menu, so I guess I did what you say: I lost priiloader.

When I followed the instructions to install HB and stuff, the YT guide showed the same than my TV (I attached the prt screen, let me know if you guys can see it). With that option, you can know if I could have bootmii installed as boot2?
 

Attachments

  • Captura de pantalla 2021-11-20 a las 14.27.05.png
    Captura de pantalla 2021-11-20 a las 14.27.05.png
    675.1 KB · Views: 80

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,979
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,110
Country
Cyprus
Yeah the Wii is probably a lost cause. If you have a hardware flasher and a nand backup u could recover, but these are hard to come by and as expensive or more compared to a replacement wii (not to mentioned the skills required to remove/flash the nand then put it back). Without bootmii @boot2 or priiloader, the only other software only solution I can think of that you could try is the savemiifrii method to autoboot into super smash bros brawl, and use the smash stack exploit (maybe bluebomb will work too with another game?) to launch homebrew to fix the problem. I've personally never had a lot of experience /luck autobooting a disc but I've never really had to try
 

gabo2503

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
30
Country
Chile
try this :

put priiloader on your sd card AGAIN (its not on your card). when you start the wii console, than hold the ''reset'' button and it should start the priiloader menu. XFlak mention it to.
I think it is delete on the sd card. I am not sure. And I do not want your money, put into a new console.

I had read very often, when user try to install wad files and wiiflow that the wii can go dead. I am not sure, I am boot all from homebrew channel and no problems with language settings (german). Has the Japan version a spanish language setting ? I only know PAL country it has english, spanish, french, german, italy.
Not at all, Peter, and that was my nightmare: japanese Wii don't have same menu on the page 3 on settings. When you get there, it shows other two options, but no the two related to language system. I had to know why these japanese wii are so cheap nowadays, hahaha.

And yes, Peter, I guess I'll have to save some money and go for an american Wii, and stop doing dumb things, hahaha.

At least, when I get the new console, is it ok if I install again the HB with the letterbomb and priloader, etc, as I did before? There is no risk at least installing those files to put the USB Loader. I only wanted to play the backup games :(

Thanks to you guys for the time and replies.
 

gabo2503

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 19, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
30
Country
Chile
Yeah the Wii is probably a lost cause. If you have a hardware flasher and a nand backup u could recover, but these are hard to come by and as expensive or more compared to a replacement wii (not to mentioned the skills required to remove/flash the nand then put it back). Without bootmii @boot2 or priiloader, the only other software only solution I can think of that you could try is the savemiifrii method to autoboot into super smash bros brawl, and use the smash stack exploit (maybe bluebomb will work too with another game?) to launch homebrew to fix the problem. I've personally never had a lot of experience /luck autobooting a disc but I've never really had to try
Hmmmn, it looks a bit complicated (at least for my hacker skills, haha). Do I need to have the original disc game of Super Smash Bros?
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,979
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,110
Country
Cyprus
Yes, unless the wii was very old (or has a hard modchip) AND hacked to play backup discs. Very unlikely, especially these days.
Hmmmn, it looks a bit complicated (at least for my hacker skills, haha). Do I need to have the original disc game of Super Smash Bros?
 
  • Like
Reactions: KleinesSinchen

peter8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
618
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,305
Country
Germany
XFlak :
''Ps3 scene is maybe the only exception I can think of.''

No, Ps3 is the hardest and it make the most problems. because the console run very fast dead. I have multiple Ps3 systems hacked. but of course never watch youtube videos.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,979
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
10,110
Country
Cyprus
Mr Mario's youtube video on ps3 custom firmware for example is very good and hasn't become obsolete with firmware updates

But I agree with you, the vast majority of YouTube video tutorials on console modding aren't great (including ps3 scene), and as a rule of thumb I say to avoid them, this vid above is the only exception I can think of to the rule (at least still valid as of today)
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @SylverReZ, "Call the dog!" +1