Help! Acekard2 not reading .sav files..

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by x3karina, Nov 13, 2008.

Nov 13, 2008
  1. x3karina
    OP

    Newcomer x3karina Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I recently purchased the Acekard2 and everything works great.. except that it doesn't read the .sav files! They show up on the menu but I can't select them or open them or anything. They are all saved as .sav and not .nds.sav or anything like that.

    Does anyone know how to fix it? And possibly put it into words that a blonde trapped inside an Asian girl's body would understand? ;D

    Thank you!
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It's been a while since I had an AK2, but I think you need to rename them from whatever.sav to whatever.nds.sav.
     
  3. x3karina
    OP

    Newcomer x3karina Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for responding, but I've tried that with no luck =(

    Is it something to do with a savelist.bin file or something like that? I've downloaded that and put it into the _ak2/ folder also with no luck.

    Is it just me? Haha..
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'm a bit confused what you are trying to do. you can not load or run the save file. is that what you mean by selecting it? you should be using the akaio firmware (because its much better and supports the official ak2 loader). in the options you can set it so that your games use either .nds.sav or .sav. depending on your files you may need to convert them to work on your ak2 (www.shunyweb.com). don't go adding any files to your akaio install, just download the 1.2 version and put it in the root of your msd card. put your converted (or not converted) sav files named the same as your roms and then double check the options to use .sav and everything will work.

    goodluck!
    -another world
     
  5. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    If it can't read save files, where did your save files come from? If they came from another cart, you probably need to convert them into a format that the AK2 can read. There's an online converter available.

    If I'm not mistaken, savelist.bin is only used for the Acekard RPG, not the Acekard 2.

    -Bri
     
  6. x3karina
    OP

    Newcomer x3karina Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the acekard2 recognizes that they are .sav files and they show up on the menu, but I can't play them. They all directly come from roms within the acekard2 that I've been playing, so I don't understand why I can't play them. =(

    I am using the firmware downloaded from acekard.com (ver. 4.11 I believe); where can I downloaded the AKAIO firmware? Would I have to delete the official firmware to use this one?

    Thanks! I feel closer to solving this problem! =)
     
  7. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO is a direct replacement for the official firmware, although it is possible to have both on your cart at the same time (just name akmenu4.nds of the official to something else like "Official Menu.nds" before installing AKAIO and you can run the official menu from AKAIO if you want).

    Unless you have an opinion set to show save files you shouldn't be seeing them in the menu. The official menu and AKAIO both name the saves "filename.nds.sav" by default (but AKAIO has an option to name them "filename.sav" if you want). You can download AKAIO here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=3104

    So are you saying that the menu creates the save file the first time you run a game, and you save your game using the normal mechanism from within the game, but then when you load your game a second time it doesn't have your saved game? Have you tried this with more than one game?

    -Bri
     
  8. carterman

    Member carterman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Check the sticky. Then the option to just use .sav instead of .nds.sav is in System Options.
     
  9. milkfat

    Newcomer milkfat Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi x3karina. Are you trying launch a game by clicking on the .sav files directly? I think the others here may be misunderstanding your issue.

    You never click on the .sav file directly to launch a game.

    .sav files are recognized automatically whenever a rom is launched. For example, launching mario_brothers.nds will cause AK2 automatically to look for mario_brothers.sav (and load it if it exists). The whole process is supposed to be transparent, you should hide the .sav files and forget they even exist.
     
  10. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    are save files all universal?? So save files from any other cart would work on the Acekard2 with or without some form of conversion??
     
  11. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    No. Some flash carts use the same save file format as the AK2, but not all of them. There is an online tool for converting save files between different formats though.

    -Bri
     
  12. x3karina
    OP

    Newcomer x3karina Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I see I see! This solved my "problem" perfectly; thank you! (I wasn't kidding about me being a blonde trapped inside an Asian body..)

    Sorry for wasting everyones time here -.-

    Thanks again! =))))))
     

Share This Page