Headphones plugged into speaker question

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Issac, Sep 6, 2010.

Sep 6, 2010
  1. Issac
    OP

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi!
    I have some really good speakers for my computer, a "Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System".
    Now, I've noticed that if I plug in my headphones into the headphones jack, the volume is maxed out and all I can do is raise and lower volume in windows (and further in itunes etc.).
    Is it normal that the volume knob is disregarded while using headphones? I've had other brands which could raise and lower the volume with the knob...

    so: is it normal? can i "fix" it? and no, I won't buy another system because this one fits my needs [​IMG]
     
  2. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Iv also got some logitec speakers with a volume dial and headphone jack and i also get the same problem its not to bad though just correct the volume through windows [​IMG]
     
  3. Issac
    OP

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah, it's not a big problem, just that I sometimes forget to lower the volume on the software side and get a huge shock! [​IMG]
     
  4. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can't you plug the phones into your computer?
     
  5. Issac
    OP

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes? But that had nothing to do with the question [​IMG] Since the computer doesn't have any external volume control. Therefore I want to use the volume control on the speakers, instead of having to turn it to 1% in windows (otherwise it's really loud haha)
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you cant, all the lower end logitech systems are built like that
     
  7. Issac
    OP

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    awww crap... oh well. Thanks Joe88!
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    easiest thing to do is just get a program to map keyboard shortcuts and map it to buttons nobody uses like pause/break for volume up and down
     
  9. Hachibei

    Member Hachibei GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I beg to differ; I have a pair of old, cheap Logitech R-10 speakers and I can control the volume going to my headphones with the dial.
     
  10. Snorlax

    Member Snorlax POSTMODERNISM

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Ohhh, this explains my problem with those speakers too... o:
    Well, that sucks. [​IMG]
     
  11. wessel261

    Newcomer wessel261 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have the logitech x-230
    and I can't control the volume too, but it's not a problem with me
    but my phones even work when my speakers are turned off [​IMG]
     
  12. frozzted

    Newcomer frozzted Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it basically says what has been said for days already in this thread

    another work around is plug the headphone into your computer (on the newer HD audio chipsets, you can pretty much change every port to something else so instead of heaphones set it to audio out)
     
  14. nutella

    Member nutella Low Glycemic Index

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Your nearest supermarket
    Country:
    Australia
    Download a program called 3RVX and you can use keyboard shortcuts for volume control. I actually find it more convenient anyway so maybe you should give it a go.
     
  15. Issac
    OP

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh, I didn't notice people were replying more to this...

    I do have a keyboard with a sound dial, so it's not a biggie for me (I mean, to program other keys or so... it's just that I always have it on full volume, and the speakers on low... and when i plug in the phones: BOOOOM earshot! [​IMG])
     

Share This Page