HddX Read-Only?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by mercluke, Sep 7, 2010.

Sep 7, 2010

HddX Read-Only? by mercluke at 4:02 AM (4,723 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    so i'm using XeXMenu (1.1 i think) and using FlashFXP as my ftp client and i can write to Hdd1 just fine but i need to write to HddX to install the hacked xbox1 emulator and for some reason the partition is read only
    is there any way for me to write to HddX without taking my hdd out of it's shell and connecting it to my pc?
     
  2. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    right click on the file and there should be a attribution/properties checkbox. delete it then transfer the updated hack emu over.
     
  3. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    displayed in the status window :x
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,748
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Xexmenu has half decent USB support- copy it across 360 side perhaps?

    I am not sure why it is not working (I know write support on the flash has a different name and password) though.
     
  5. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm...
    can't seem to copy to, move to or create files on hddx in xexmenu
    [​IMG]

    does this mean i will need to reformat the hdd? [​IMG]
     
  6. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    No you don't. Try getting FlashFXP to go into active mode.
     
  7. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    it's in active mode and i have the same problems i have with ftp when using the filemanager in xexmenu on the xbox, itself

    edit: backing up contents of my hdd so i can try a format incase that works but for some reason a folder inside the Content folder oter than the 000000000 folder (i think it is my avatar/gamertag/whatever its called) refuses to copy [​IMG]
    If i just not back this up then will i lose my saves?
     
  8. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First thing I would try is moving something over to it using xexmenu's file browser on the 360. For some reason if hddx is completely empty, then it just doesn't cooperate with the ftp client.

    If it still doesn't work, then I'd try running hdd compatibility partition fixer on the 360 and let it remake the partition. Then trying again (you'll still need at least one file copied to it, for the ftp to cooperate).

    File not coping across at the moment is more than likely your tag, I had the exact same issue and never found the reason for it. You'll have to use either xexmenu file browser and move it across to a usb stick or let the 360 format one and move it using nxe.
    Although I think you are wasting your time. The format option on the 360 doesn't touch partition 2, so if there is something wrong, it won't fix it.
     
  9. overlord00

    Member overlord00 A motherfucking birdplane

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Country:
    Australia
    yes. the reason for this is xexmenu refuses to copy/move/delete anything in use. that is to say, your gamertag/profile and the xexmenu .xex file also. to remedy this, create a temporary gamertag, sign in with that, launch xexmenu, THEN copy your original gamertag... also, you could move your gamertag to a USB MU, then use "USB Xtaf Xplorer" and copy/backup your profile. and as an extra alternate, use FSD2's file explorer, seems to work better.
     
  10. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    that worked fine, thanks [​IMG]

    just one other thing.. just then when trying to boot my console i was getting an e71 error then i tried to boot by pressing the eject button to boot into xellous and try to re-install freeboot (since i am told e71 is a dashboard error) and instead of booting xellous it booted the nxe

    while i am happy the 360 still works i am kind of concerned that i don't have xellous as a failsafe like i thought i would in case of a brick...
    how would i go about re-installing xell or xellous without having to re-solder the lpt cable?
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could use flash360. However I gather it was intended to be use with XBR rather than freeboot and so gives a nand mismatch error. I've read you can ignore it, but when I did I ended up with a E71 error.

    You will need to reattach the LPT cable, and you should have checked you had Xellous working before putting on FreeBoot.

    Your only other option is to wait for FSD2 and use it's built in nand flasher, but it's still risky without Xellous.
     
  12. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    i used xellous to install freeboot [​IMG]
     
  13. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't see why you would be missing Xellous other than having switched to a HDMI lead. I was having issues getting DashLaunch to work, burned a fresh dash on cdr and updated. I didn't do anything to the image, it was straight out of the FreeBoot ToolBox Maker. Xellous is still there.

    I'd leave the LPT cable connected, I know on mine I was able to roll it up and leave it behind the DVD drive.

    I only other thing I can think of is you flashed xell-1f.bin instead of xell-2f.bin. I gather it's xell-2f.bin which is used to get Xellous displayed when pressing the eject button when the console is off.
     
  14. mercluke
    OP

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    tried flash360 just incase, thinking the worst that could happen is i'd have to get the lpt cable out to re-flash which i'd need to do to re-install xellous anyway...

    so i did, as expected it yielded e71 errors so now i'm trying to reflash it and using the exact same setup as before (lpt cable with no resistors due to 3.3v lpt port on pc) and nandpro isn't detecting the 360

    i had a perfectly fine jtagged box and i ruined it with my laziness [​IMG]

    edit: wierd, just tried again for like the 20th time and it actually booted xellous this time ( i pressed eject each time, not power button)
    that's lucky i was mere minutes away from giving up and buying one of those pricey usb nan flashing kits... :x
     

Share This Page