Haxchi - Black Screen - Please Help

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by PerfectCrumpet, Jun 29, 2017.

  1. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    So im new to modding nintendo, Ive alread installed CFW to my 3DS and attempted to mod my Wii U today. I followed this guide >>> https://wiiu.guide/haxchi <<< I got to the instruction of just simply clicking on the Haxchi app to boot into the patched Sysnand. However after the Haxchi splash screen the screen just goes black and stays like that untill I restart. I have installed all the prerequisites the config is correct and I double and rechecked each step before I attempted it. any advice?
     
    Last edited by PerfectCrumpet, Jun 29, 2017
  2. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,423
    1,687
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    post the contents of your SD:\HaxChi\config.txt file here.
     
  3. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for taking the time. Here is the config.
     
  4. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,423
    1,687
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    Unplug all USB drives and re-install HaxChi over the top of the DS game that you bought from the eshop. Leave the config.txt the way that it is.

    You did buy an eshop DS game right?
     
  5. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    So use the default Haxchi config? and yes Ive owned Pokemon Ranger for a while.
     
  6. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,423
    1,687
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    No, don't use default config. What you posted is not the default HaxChi config. Don't put new files on the SD. Leave the SD the way that it is and then re-install HaxChi over the DS game that you bought. This will make sure that the config that you posted is indeed the config that HaxChi is using. HaxChi uses the config.txt file that it sees during install only. Changing the config after does nothing unless you re-install HaxChi. That's when your config.txt changes get applied. Before moving on I just wanted to make sure that your HaxChi is using the config.txt config that you posted above (which is the correct config for HaxChi CFW)
     
    Last edited by Kafluke, Jun 29, 2017
  7. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    I will try this again buut. What if I had already tried reinstall HaxChi multiple times with this config already on the sd?
     
  8. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,423
    1,687
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    Did HaxChi work before you changed it to CFW? In other words, did it work with the default config ever? Could you click on it and get into HBL?
     
  9. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    No. I followed the tutorial which told me to change the config out from the start. I then installed HaxChi and attempted the Launch. I also tried another config suggested on this site but that didnt work either.
     
  10. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    So I just tried the default config. Still a black screen.
     
  11. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,423
    1,687
    May 6, 2006
    United States
    Where is your DS title installed. Here's the steps I recommend.

    1. Unplug all USB.
    2. Go to system settings and delete HaxChi or the DS game that you installed it on (Whichever shows up)
    3. Reboot your Wii U
    4. Go to eshop and redownload your DS game.
    5. Test your game to make sure it works
    6. Look at my sig and go to the HaxChi section. Step 2 I think.
    7. Put your SD in your computer
    8. Follow my guide to download latest HaxChi.
    9. Copy necessary files to SD overwriting when promoted.
    10. Put SD back in Wii U and install HaxChi over working DS eshop game.
    11. Test HaxChi. Does it launch HBL?

    Report back
     
  12. Felek666

    Felek666 Archdemon | #AMDForever

    Member
    3,229
    3,336
    Jan 3, 2017
    Poland
    reddit.com/r/satania/
    Default Haxchi config has this:
    default=wiiu/apps/homebrew_launcher/homebrew_launcher.elf

    If you change config.txt from the start, Haxchi will mostly likely break itself and DS VC game you're exploiting.
    If you followed our guides like Kafluke's, my redNAND-free guide or wiiubru.com/guide, then you wouldn't have any problems now.
     
  13. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    So I wiped all of haxchi and reinstalled my VC Game and installed it following the wiiuburu.com/guide. aaaaand Black screen.
     
  14. Felek666

    Felek666 Archdemon | #AMDForever

    Member
    3,229
    3,336
    Jan 3, 2017
    Poland
    reddit.com/r/satania/
    Weird. Can you boot into HBL from Browserhax and reinstall it using Haxchi Installer?
    If it's still blackscreen, delete and redownload Haxchi Installer.
     
  15. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    This did not work. Also the VC Game Icon and splash screen no even change to the Haxchi ones when i download it from the HBL.
     
  16. Felek666

    Felek666 Archdemon | #AMDForever

    Member
    3,229
    3,336
    Jan 3, 2017
    Poland
    reddit.com/r/satania/
    Over what game are you overwriting it? If that game doesn't work then buy Brain Age.
     
  17. PerfectCrumpet
    OP

    PerfectCrumpet Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 29, 2017
    United Kingdom
    Pokemon Ranger should be compatible. But I guess I may have to buy Brain Age, ill have to do it later, ill post in this thread later the outcome. Thanks for the help.