Having trouble with samiam144's [Tutorial] Installing rxTools Custom Firmware

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by FRANTHROW2, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. FRANTHROW2
    OP

    FRANTHROW2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 12, 2016
    Argentina
    Sounds dumb but I am having trouble with this step:

    See AidanLumina's tweet here and click Files for downgrade/manual update.

    The tweet no longer exists and I can't go on.

    Thanks for your attention.
     
  2. Slattz

    Slattz Easygoing Fairy

    Member
    1,140
    1,243
    Nov 21, 2015
    Ireland
    Use Luma3DS instead, it has more game compatibility and rxTools is outdated. :)
     
    FRANTHROW2 likes this.
  3. FRANTHROW2
    OP

    FRANTHROW2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 12, 2016
    Argentina
    So I just follow through exactly the same instructions in the tutorial but with Luma3DS or do I need another guide?
     
  4. Slattz

    Slattz Easygoing Fairy

    Member
    1,140
    1,243
    Nov 21, 2015
    Ireland
    Are you installing a9lh or menuhax w/ cfw? I presume the latter, you should follow this guide to install a9lh: https://3ds.guide/
    A9lh is so much better than menuhax w/ cfw :)
     
    FRANTHROW2 likes this.
  5. FRANTHROW2
    OP

    FRANTHROW2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 12, 2016
    Argentina
    Well I am following this, I am on How to Update your 3DS/2DS to 9.0 or 9.2, telling me I am installing menuhax. Do I just follow through with a9lh?
     
  6. Slattz

    Slattz Easygoing Fairy

    Member
    1,140
    1,243
    Nov 21, 2015
    Ireland
    Yes, follow the guide, it tells you what you need to do depending on your version and 3ds model :)
     
    FRANTHROW2 likes this.
  7. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    10,459
    5,514
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Forget that guide you linked. Stop following it. Throw it away.

    Only follow 3ds.guide/get-started.
     
    FRANTHROW2 and samiam144 like this.
  8. FRANTHROW2
    OP

    FRANTHROW2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 12, 2016
    Argentina
    From the absolute beginning? Aw man I have been a while with the other one, I was on the last step :/
     
  9. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Undeclared Shitposter 2.1

    Member
    5,706
    2,113
    Jan 11, 2016
    Japan
    日本
    You will 100% want Luma3DS, it is an active CFW and being worked on all the time, rxTools is dead and no longer is getting worked on (maybe a few forks but not very active at all) nintendo could essentially patch rxTools over time in comparison to Luma
     
    FRANTHROW2 likes this.
  10. FRANTHROW2
    OP

    FRANTHROW2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 12, 2016
    Argentina
    Ok, but how could I go about resetting all of my progress? Do I just delete all the contents in my SD and start from the linked guide as if nothing happens?
     
  11. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Undeclared Shitposter 2.1

    Member
    5,706
    2,113
    Jan 11, 2016
    Japan
    日本
    FRANTHROW2 likes this.
  12. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    10,459
    5,514
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    The problem with that is he didn't finish rxTools. OP, better to start from the beginning of 3ds.guide/get-started. It doesn't take too long, and is less complicated than trying to work out rxTools, promise :)
    You don't need to delete everything, because if, for example, you can already access homebrew, you may find yourself skipping a lot of that section in 3ds.guide. When you are finished, then delete all the rxTools stuff.
     
    FRANTHROW2 likes this.
  13. FRANTHROW2
    OP

    FRANTHROW2 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 12, 2016
    Argentina
    All right, thank you all for helping me!
     
    proflayton123 likes this.
  14. m37r01d

    m37r01d GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    118
    20
    Sep 12, 2009
    United States
    I don't think rx even supports any newer games anyways
     
  15. Bedel

    Bedel The key of the blade

    Member
    982
    330
    Oct 28, 2015
    I'm 100% sure it does not work with the latest update of AC:NL, but I don't know if more games are afected. If not, the newest will for sure.
     
  16. m37r01d

    m37r01d GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    118
    20
    Sep 12, 2009
    United States
    After I couldn't get ehh I think some mario game workingredients I switched to Luma.