1. DarkMario616

    OP DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    United States
    This never happened to me but it did to my sister's DS (no shell change), randomly, and not often.

    Now it happened to me the first time ever after my shell change.

    What is this caused by and is it just a rare bug/glitch or something?

    DS Lite, Green battery light, Acekard AKAIO 1.6rc2, I was playing The Warlock of Firetop Mountain.
     
  2. shadowmanwkp

    shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have heard of flashcarts hanging upon opening/closing them... Maybe this is the case with your Acekard. The thing is that if you open or close your DS the micro SD might move a little. If this happens the micro SD might come off the contacts, the flashcart can't read the data on the micro SD and the screen will turn black (or maybe shut down like it did with you). As far as I know you can't do anything about it, just don't close your ds too often.

    I'm just guessing a bit, to be fully sure I'd recommend you trying to do this with a legit game and see if the DS will shut down upon opening/closing. If it happens then, the problem could be something else.
     
  3. DarkMario616

    OP DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    United States
    Makes sense because I gave my Sister her R4, which this has happened on too.

    But like I said I can't really try with a retail cart as this has been the first time it happened, and it stopped (tried with AceKard).

    It's random too.
     
  4. scrtmstr

    scrtmstr GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    Netherlands
    happened to me when I put my DSi in sleep mode.
    My problem was that the battery was to far empty when i opened it again.
    that could have been the problem with yours.
     
  5. shadowmanwkp

    shadowmanwkp Your roms are on another rom site
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Very unlikely, as he stated
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 4
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,527
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This has happened to me a couple of times before, but rarely. If I run the DS browser using my CycloDS and a 3in1 and go into sleep mode it'll turn off, but it doesn't seem to using retail cards.
     
  7. giratina16

    giratina16 Born This Way
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Country:
    Mine did it ll the time, I assumed it was my R4 that was doing it. My DSi is fine though it comes out of sleep mode normally.
     
  8. DarkMario616

    OP DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    United States
    Ah so it's common with flashcarts, or at least some (ex. R4).

    Oh well nothing to worry about, thanks!
     
  9. zuron7

    zuron7 RBYG
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,369
    Country:
    India
    It use to happen to my brother's system quite often while using an R4 with official menu.
    But after I put YSmenu on it for him the frequency of it happening reduced.
    But soon it totally stopped and doesn't happen any more.

    I think it's because of the R4 and the firmware being used on it.
     
  10. jlsyber

    jlsyber GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Never hapened to me.
     
  11. jlsyber

    jlsyber GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Never hapened to me.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - happened, anyone,