Hardware Question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Draconn, Jun 24, 2010.

Jun 24, 2010

Hardware Question by Draconn at 7:55 PM (1,060 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Draconn
    OP

    Newcomer Draconn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm looking for someone with Wii hardware knowledge to give me their best guess. My Wii has a Cyclowiz installed and I was attempting to upgrade the firmware and stash the upgrade wires when I touched the x connection to the housing on the Sync button. Stupid, yes. It sparked and now I have a black screen brick. I'm looking for a best guess as to what broke. I would expect a fuse to take the hit, but I don't think that should give me a black screen... Unless I hit a major fuse. I'm trying to track down a GC controller for FixMiiFree, but in the meantime, any guesses as to what blew?
     
  2. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    You probably fried your drive. Try booting the wii with no drive installed. if it works well you you're gonna need a new drive. If not, well you're gonna need a new wii.
     
  3. Draconn
    OP

    Newcomer Draconn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks. I'll try that. Wouldn't the fuses catch that though? Especially since the x connection is right next to one?
     
  4. Draconn
    OP

    Newcomer Draconn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, I tried booting without a drive installed and I get the same black screen. Something strange is that sometimes even the power light will turn off after a while--totally dark--but not always.
     
  5. alphatrap

    Newcomer alphatrap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    Philippines
    you shocked the wii motherboard chip thing
     
  6. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Even if you just blew a fuse. They're not easy to replace let alone find for purchase. You're gonna have to call this one in to Nintendo.
     
  7. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Deadlyfoez was the man in that department! [​IMG]
     
  8. Draconn
    OP

    Newcomer Draconn Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    sjones: Can I call this in with a modchip? The website says no dice for modified systems.
     
  9. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Well people have chanced it with modchip and have had success. But i'm sure they're policy has changed since then. I would remove the chip and clean it up and make it look good. I'm an artist with a soldering iron [​IMG]
     
  10. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Considering they charge you for having the HBC installed in the past, I would say no. Just remove the chip. Also, why were you working in the Wii with it turned on in the first place?
     
  11. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Xflak who is Deadlyfoez closest friend posted this a while ago.
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    This is really off-topic, but what happened to his posts?
     
  13. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Maybe he requested to be removed as like "he never existed". That's my guess not sure about it.
     

Share This Page