Hamachi on teh DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by IzzehO, Sep 28, 2008.

Sep 28, 2008

Hamachi on teh DS by IzzehO at 6:54 AM (3,940 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. IzzehO
    OP

    Member IzzehO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm not sure how many have heard of the program Hamachi. It's basically a program that connects to other computers around the world and simulates that they are on a lan. Now theoretically a program can be run on the DS (or on a directly connected computer system) that convinces a commercial game that another person running this program is actually on local wifi range. And enables true wireless play against anyone in the world on a local wireless only game.

    Sounds insane I know, but I'm beginning to wonder that once a few more things get mapped for the DS this would be highly probable. What do you guys think?
     
  2. matrix121391

    Member matrix121391 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Country:
    United States
    I like that idea, but I doubt it's possible. But hey, what do i know?
     
  3. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    Would not work to do so it would have to run the program on the DS and then load the game making it very very very unlikely. Unless you can make a wireless device (hardware) thinking its a DS and then go through the internet and connect to someone else with this hardware device and connect that way.
     
  4. goodboy735

    Member goodboy735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Northwest Somewhere, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Couldn't a wireless adapter in ad-hoc mode work? but then you would have to have a wired internet connection.....

    Great idea BTW [​IMG]
     
  5. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    unless you can make it think it is another DS that you are connecting to and transfer the connection via IP I do not think so.
     
  6. goodboy735

    Member goodboy735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Northwest Somewhere, USA
    Country:
    United States
    It would also probably be very slow
     
  7. IzzehO
    OP

    Member IzzehO GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    300
    Country:
    Australia
    Well it's slow already [​IMG] But I think (I know this is in no way practical) it would probably be easiest with 2 DS in local range - have one running homebrew and other connecting to it? [​IMG]
     
  8. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    You would have to create custom drivers for your AP to make your DS believe it was communicating to another DS.

    Much like the WifiMe Homebrew launcher method.

    EDIT: Maybe you could ask the Xlink Kai to look into it. They currently have something much like what you suggested for the Xbox, PS2, Gamecube, PSP, etc.
     
  9. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's impossible. Research DSTunnel.
     
  10. Blfdgfdghd

    Banned Blfdgfdghd Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    Canada
    Hamachi i used that for Maplestory and Such xD
     
  11. kennypu

    Member kennypu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    United States
    this is what xlink kai does for the psp. I heard they are working on it for the DS, but i have no news or info on it xP. I suppose its possible since they did it for psp, but i'm no network guy so idk xP
     

Share This Page