Hackmii Installer/Letterbomb Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by dmonkey21, Jan 24, 2012.

Jan 24, 2012
  1. dmonkey21
    OP

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    I am having a problem on a virgin 4.3 Wii, there has never been any changes made and I am booting the latest HackMii installer using Letterbomb.

    My problem is the installer boots but using Letterbomb exploit but once the 'Press 1' dialog appears the Wii Remote disconnects and will not reconnect until reboot (flashes all lights until reboot). I was wondering if anybody has any insight into this.

    I think that the problem has something to do with the hardware, considering that everything software related is virgin.

    The causes I could think of are:

    1) The SD card being used is SDHC or
    2) The Wii remote being used is the new kind with Motionplus built in or
    3) There is some problem with Letterbomb with this Wii? In which case a game-related exploit might work instead?

    The person recently procured this Wii and has no other SD or Wii Remotes currently and has no exploitable games, so I was wondering if anybody would have an idea as to what the problem might be before I tell them to go buy a game for another exploit/a new remote/a new SD card.
     
  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Most likely it's #2 so check here & see if his remote is incompatible or no .
     
  3. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say 1. If it were 2 then the remote wouldn't connect to begin with.
     
  4. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Letterbomb has no problem with SDHC cards. It's #2.
     
  5. snikerz

    Member snikerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    Liechtenstein
    A Wii Remote+ will connect without any problems, as this is handled by IOS, not by any devkitPro application.
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't mean it works with every SD card ever made ever, lol.

    @snikerz The latest Motion+ remotes don't work with homebrew.
     
  7. snikerz

    Member snikerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    Liechtenstein
    Yes, but they will connect, as this is handled by IOS - which is not homebrew. Please stop spreading false information.
     
  8. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Duh, if letterbomb can be launched from the system menu and the exploit is able to load the hackmii installer and pass the integrity checks there obviously isn't a problem with the card.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    *Joostin facepalms*

    It's obviously time for me to get some sleep.
     
  10. dmonkey21
    OP

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    damn. It would seem from your posts that the problem is the Wii remote. He bought the new Black Wii NSMB bundle in December :/

    Is there any way to make this work without having to find an older controller?

    For example is there any sort of modded hackmii installer that can be controlled without a Wii Remote (like how bootMii is used) or anyway to temporarily disable the MotionPlus functionality of these new remotes?

    Regardless, thanks for your help guys. I had not been able to find anything about the new controllers not working prior to this :)
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I need to:
    1) Get my hands on one of these remotes so I can test stuff myself
    2) Stop making posts at 5AM, lol.
     
  12. dmonkey21
    OP

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    Damn. Ok so I got a hold of an older non motion-plus Wii and that did allow the HackiMii Installer to work, meaning that there IS some sort of problem with the new remotes and homebrew :(

    However I now have a new problem XD. I am trying to install cIOS dx7 on the Wii, but I can't seem to get any IOS to work with a WAD installer. I have tried the old IOS36 Trucha Bug from DOP-Mii but this doesn't seem to work with 4.3. I have also tried the IOS236 insataller but that doesn't work, I believe because he on;y has a 4GB SDHC card...

    Am I forgetting something super obvious that would let me do this some other way?
     
  13. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    I had this problem once. I couldn't get it to work even with several different remotes. I ended up having to use a GameCube controller.
    Edit: Didn't see that you just got it to work.
     
  14. dmonkey21
    OP

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    haha ya it's cool now I just need a way to install cIOS with an SDHC :/
     
  15. johnf1nk

    Newcomer johnf1nk Newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I just downloaded the wilbrand launcher but Im having problems it would seem. the program generates theexploit and boot.elf but when I run the expoit on my wii the hackmii installer doesn't load, instead I am jst kicked back to the channel screen. Any Idea what might be causing that. a note aside incase its relevant the wii Im running it on is already softmoded I'm doing the install again for a tutorial I'm working on.
     

Share This Page