Hacking the PS3

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by vashinator, Jun 3, 2017.

1. vashinator
    OP

vashinator Member

Newcomer
    Dec 30, 2016
    United States
    Please forgive my newbieness, but I have a few questions about hacking the PS3. I am new to hacking video game consoles - I have a Wii which I hacked via softmod, and I also own an unhacked PS3, which I own a sizable amount of digital games which I paid for (downloaded from the PSN Store). As far as I understand, there is no softmod for the PS3, and I need to use a USB dongle in order to hack it. So my questions are:

Are there any downsides or risks to hacking the PS3? Is it possible that I may brick my PS3?
    Will I still be able to play the games which I purchased for money (from the PSN Store), in addition to game "backups" (ie downloaded from the internet)?
    Which dongle is the best one to use and any recommendations on where to get it?
    Once you hack your PS3, is it relatively hassle free? I mean, can you simply play any backed up games out there or do you have to download certain patches to play certain games, etc.

My System Software on my PS3 is currently 4.81

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. britain4

britain4 GBAtemp Regular

Jun 16, 2014
    Sheffield
    You won't be able to hack it with a USB dongle. It requires a hardware flasher that either needs soldering to the board or you can get clips but only for certain models.

Don't really know much about PSN bans, I would imagine you'd be risking it if you were playing online with it.

Backing up discs to the hard drive is easy with Multiman, no experience with playing downloaded games but I don't think it's a difficult process

3. queendude

queendude GBAtemp Regular

May 8, 2017
    Germany
    When i used my psn account i got banned in 3 weeks. Had 30 games. All lost.

Don't go online.

4. sergey3000

sergey3000 GBAtemp Fan

Sep 14, 2013
    Iceland