hack a kinect to work without the adapter

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by VashTS, Apr 24, 2011.

Apr 24, 2011
  1. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    I just got a used kinect from a friend, I just tried to hook up not realizing its not just usb. Is there anyway I can split the wire and hook it up without buying the separate adapter?

    I'm sure it can be done, but I don't want to cut the wire if I don't have to.
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you need the adapter because USB cant provide it enough power
    the adapter comes with a AC wall adapter to power it
     
  3. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd assume if you really wanted to, you could just tap off from 12V internally in the 360 or from another power adapter. Power adapter for the kinect just seems to be a passthrough. Kinect into it, then a usb to the console and a plug to the wall. Just looking at it I'd assume it simply splits the + - data lines and the + - power lines. Power lines off to the wall, data lines to the console.

    I see no reason you couldn't just cut the usb off it, take the + and - power lines to a 12V source (kinect runs on 12V 1A) from another power supply or even internally from the 360 and then the + and - data lines to the consoles usb port.

    Seems to be what the official adapter does. Although considering 3rd partys have already starting knocking out power adapters for pretty cheap, it doesn't seems worth the effort.
     
  4. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    30 bucks on amazon isn't really what I'd call cheap. It looks like its 2 usbs on 1 plug if you look in the end of it. i'm thinking it probably has 9 wires, maybe 8 inside the wire. 4 for usb and 4 for power. there seems to be one off to the side (maybe an extra ground).

    What I was thinking is using the back usb as the data and power, and a front usb as straight power. I guess that wouldn't be enough voltage if you say its 12v. usb is only 5v.

    edit: just wanted to say what a joke this product is. i might call xbox and bitch see if they send me one. i got a product made by a company that doesn't work straight up with the same company's product. i know the slim has it built in, but they should have made it standard to work on ALL systems. m$ sucks balls. im don't love sony, but i bet all the move stuff works with any model ps3.
     
  5. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    well it seems its possible i found a couple links on another site. but looks tough to make. i tried calling m$ and telling them i didn't get one but the jerk wad didn't send me one. i told them i just bought it and it didn't come with the power adapter. oh well. i made a sony comment and ended the call.
     
  6. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    3rd party ones are around $10 shipped from USA
    http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?rt=nc&LH_B...d=p3286.c0.m283

    When you buy a kinect system separately it comes with the adapter/power. But when bundled with the slim it does not. I actually like this design as if you have a slim you do not need another power sucking brick plugged in.
     
  7. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    sorry to bump an ancient thread, but i am back in the same situation! lmao!

    i feel more confident in my abilities now though, i've progressed in my hardware know-how drastically.

    anyone know or can point me to info regarding hook this up internally? i mean using a 12v source from inside the xbox itself?

    i would love to have the kinect connect straight in the xbox, just don't know what amperage is inside the xbox, i know there is a 12v source.
     
  8. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States

    Wouldn't it be easier as well as less of a risk just to buy one of the $6 adapters with free shipping dilav linked off eBAY? Instead of potentially ruining your kinect altogether?

    Assuming you still want to go that route I found a nice mini tutorial that might be of some use to you.

    http://suhastech.com/homemade-kinect-hack-usb-ac-power-adapter-connector-for-the-xbox-360/

    Instead of connecting the 12v to an external adapter you'd tap into your Xbox 360's 12v source. (I'm sure there are more than just this one.)

    http://www.ledlightingandmods.com/_my_images/Item Images/xbox 360 12v power source.jpg
     
  9. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    im probably going to just buy an adapter, but i like projects, plus for this moment i'm pretty much broke (i get paid thursday, then $6 won't be an issue). i've found that link, i do know how to google search. what i'm wondering is how many amps the 12v source is, the kinect needs at least 1.66 amps, max is around 2. wiring to usb would be simple i imagine but the power is the main issue.
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,672
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Wiring to USB will just get you 0.5a in best cases. You need a separate 2A powersupply. You can splice the power wires and re-route them on an external Power Supply (they go for $5, so you're totally better off buying that adapter).
     
  11. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Why don't you check the label on your Xbox power supply, 12V is either 16.5, 14.2, or 12.1 A. Could be sketchy if Kinect pulls 2A while the xbox is on full load.

    Internal connector mod has been done before however, and there are adapter's made which pulls power from the Xbox power supply as well, like the following. (remember the intercoolers?)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/380627849963
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/321179053420
     
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,918
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Best to upgrade the PSU of the 360 if you're going to wire it up internally.
     
  13. VashTS
    OP

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,657
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the answers! i'm probably just going to buy an adapter, its like $12 locally so i don't have to wait for shipping. i really wanted to do this project, but it just seems like it won't work or possible might injure my hardware.

    the only reason i think this will work just fine is that someone did an internal mod, they just used the kinect connector from the power adapter and wired it to the same locations that i was figuring i'd wire it to.

    it seems pretty straightforward, there are 5 wires in the kinect cable...1x12v brown wire, 1xred 5v usb power, 1xgreen usb data, 1xwhite usb data, and 1xblack usb ground.

    the power supply adapter makes me feel like i could do this even more. i'm just afraid to risk my hardware since all sources are saying don't do it.
     
  14. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,918
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Modding it internally would look neat indeed but better not risk it if you're afraid to lose it ;]
     

Share This Page