1. xYuunax

    OP xYuunax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Quick and Easy Guide to Remote Play for the PS4 5.05 using HEN 2.1.3

    With the release of HEN 2.1.3, SiSTR0 has included the Remote Play Enabler from PS4REN, so it no longer needs to be run separately.

    And Thanks to MysteryDash for the Offline patcher we can run remote play without Internet connection.

    Remote Play Offline Patcher:
    https://github.com/MysteryDash/Offline-PS4-Remote-Play
    https://github.com/MysteryDash/Offline-PS4-Remote-Play/releases


    Remote Play Client PC v2.8 (For 5.05)
    Remote Play Version 2.8.0.3041 Download

    SiSTR0's Hen 2.1.3
    https://github.com/SiSTR0/ps4-hen-vtx/
    https://github.com/SiSTR0/ps4-hen-vtx/releases


    Step-by-Step(Download Links Above):
    1. Run HEN 2.1.3 with exploit of choice
    2. Download the Remote Play Client v2.8 (v3.0 requires latest FW) & Offline Patcher
    3. Create a dummy PSN account which we will use for the login on Remote Play Client: https://store.playstation.com/
    4. Install Remote Play Client, unpack offline patcher and run it.
    5. Login to Remote Play PC with dummy PSN account
    6. On the PS4: go to Settings>Remote Play Connection Settings>Add Device
    7. On the PC: Register PS4 & Change quality and framerate according to your network & console. (WiFi vs LAN - PS4 vs PS4Pro)
    FAQ(s):
    Q. Does this work with the PS Vita?
    A. Yes it does.

    Q. Does this work with the Android/Iphone App?
    A. If an offline version of the App exists, not confirmed.

    Q. Does this work with the latest Remote Play Client (v3.0+)?
    A. No, the 3.0 client requires the PS4 to be on the latest firmware.

    Q. Does this work Online?
    A. No this is offline, local network only.. Maybe a VPN?

    Q. It's asking for my PSN account, can I use my official one?
    A. You can, but I don't recommend it.

    Other things you can do with Remote Play:

    I use Remote Play to stream/record PS4 gameplay. One thing to keep in mind, is you will need to create a user profile for the Remote Play, or the client will take over your controller. (There are plenty of guides out there)

    Credits to:

    SiSTR0
    MysteryDash
    & anyone/everyone that has contributed to the PS4 homebrew community. (You know who you are ;))
     
    Last edited by xYuunax, Mar 31, 2020
    RiPPERD, Leeful and (deleted member) like this.
  2. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,204
    Country:
    Portugal
    Awesome. Finally. It requires 7.0.0 but this tool can be done for 5.05. Thanks!
     
    Leeful likes this.
  3. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I always have an issue with Remote Play.

    When it first connects the screen is always garbled. To fix it I have to go to video output settings and toggle Deep Colour Output on of off.
    The problem is which ever setting it is on (Automatic or off) when I first connect it is always messed up and I need to toggle the setting to fix it.

    Here's a video of the problem.: https://streamable.com/g5tkn

    Anyone have any suggestions?


    Also I found out that the PS4 needs an active internet connection to connect with Remote Play.
    I tried for ages to connect but I kept getting a 0x80001fff error in the app.
    I realised that the problem was the PS4 I was testing it on had the lan and wifi mac addresses blocked in my router (to block internet access but allow normal network access)

    When I allowed internet access again to the PS4 it connected without the error. (Obviously I still used AlAzif's DNS to block sony update servers)
     
    Last edited by Leeful, Apr 1, 2020
    pucira_mja and KiiWii like this.
  4. xYuunax

    OP xYuunax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    hmmm... my PS4 is blocked by router and works fine.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  5. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah its weird.
    With my PS4 wifi and lan mac filtering enabled it wont work for me. it says conected on PS4 then on the Remote play it gives the 0x80001fff error and it says disconnected on the PS4.

    I turned off the mac filtering in my router and it works.

    The solution I use now is to use my PC IP as primary DNS and AlAzif's as secondary DNS.
    This way I can connect to my DNS Exploit Server program on my PC if I am testing my exploit menus and if my server is not running on the PC the PS4 defauts to the AlAzif DNS to give a protected internet connection.:)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I used to prefer using mac filtering in my router because it blocked all internet access to my PS4 but I still had full local network connectivity.
     
    pucira_mja likes this.
  6. xYuunax

    OP xYuunax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Did you block your PS4 to your lan or wan?
     
  7. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had both blocked.
    I have been using a lan connection but I'll try wifi later and see if I get the same results with mac filtering enabled again.
     
    pucira_mja likes this.
  8. xYuunax

    OP xYuunax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I only block internet access, but network access is still intact.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  9. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, Same here.

    I just turned mac filtering back on and remote play now connects ok !!
    I tried to open google in the PS4 browser and it would not load so the mac filtering is definatly working.

    I have no idea whats going on now.:wacko::wacko:
     
    pucira_mja likes this.
  10. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just done some more testing and I definitely cannot connect to Remote Play if I have mac filtering enabled for the PS4 in my router .
    remoteplayerror.jpg
    When I turn it off it connects every time.

    The missunderstanding I had earlier when it would connect is because I didn't restart my PS4. As soon as I restart my PS4 it will not connect if mac filtering is on.
     
    pucira_mja likes this.
  11. xYuunax

    OP xYuunax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    if your router can support it, i suggest you check out openwrt. custom firmware for routers, much better than stock in most cases.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  12. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,204
    Country:
    Portugal
    Question. How do you block internet access ? Curiosity.
     
  13. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Log into your router and look for mac filtering.
    Add the mac address of your PS4's Wifi and/or LAN adapter (can be found in PS4 system settings under your firmware version).
    This will block your PS4 having any outside internet access but will still allow it access to your local network.
     
    Last edited by Leeful, Apr 2, 2020
    Codemastershock and pucira_mja like this.
  14. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,204
    Country:
    Portugal
    I know how to access into our router and find Mac.

    All I have to do is find Mac from PS4 and add it to our router ?
     
  15. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,316
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, There is one for your WiFi and one for your Lan.
    Enter both or just the one you usually use to connect your PS4.
    mac-add.jpg

    You can test if it works by trying to load google in your ps4 browser (it shouldn't)
    Also test your FTP. (This shows you still have local network access)
     
    pucira_mja and azoreseuropa like this.
  16. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,204
    Country:
    Portugal
    Many thanks. That's helpful. Cheers!
     
    Leeful likes this.
  17. YamiPanda

    YamiPanda Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    France
    I'm kinda curious why is this useful since there is the official PS4 remote thing that works quite fine ?
     
  18. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,995
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does it work for 5.05 though?
     
  19. Kazesama

    Kazesama GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    If people bothered to read, they would see the answer starring them in the face:

     
  20. pucira_mja

    pucira_mja Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Iran
    Hello
    I'm just create account to thank you Leeful for your feedback about error 0x80001fff that I got when to connect to my Ps4 which is blocked in router and hanging around to solve problem and give up the whole thing about remote play :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Client+PS4REN+Streaming), [GUIDE]PS4, (Offline